We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven in Kakadu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Reviewed February 13, 2012

If you´re travelling to Kakadu, Gagadju Crocodile lodge is a great place to stay if you´re after comfort and a decent hotel. We received a warm and friendly welcome from Shankar on the front desk and he remained helpful throughout our stay. We had a somewhat erratic aircon and he swiftly sent a repairman and then moved us to another room looking out over the pool. The rooms are a bit tired but well looked after and comfortable. The pool area is very pleasant and a swim there after a long day quite refreshing.
We had dinner at the restaurant on both nights as the only other place open when we visited Jabiru was Aurora lodge. The Gagadju´s restaurant is overpriced and not all that good. I think my sisters Pasta Primavera would have to be the sorriest bunch of looking vegetables and rewarmed penne I have ever seen - topped with some grated supermarket cheese. We found that the more expensive the item on the menu the better. Dessert was ok and the buffet breakfast was not bad..
I would definitely stay here again as it is central to all the attractions in Kakadu.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Dear Eddwina,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and can assure you that your comments regarding the restaurant have been taken onboard.

Kind Regards,

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,157)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

From the initial call to the Manager, Chris, and his advice on the best accommodation/meal package, to the front desk advice help of Min and others, the daily attention in the dinning room by Ashwin, our holiday experience was exceptional. Sure, the facilities were not 5-star, but the personal touch by staff and their friendliness and enthusiam was unexpected and helped make our stay truly memorable. The food was wonderful and the daily buffet breakfasts were a highlight for the kids. We were very lucky with the weather but heeding the advice of staff on what to do in Kakadu was very much a key factor to having a great time. Certainly a little bit of heaven in the middle of a wondeful national park. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Downstairs next to the pool
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank korrick8696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Dear Korrick8696,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay experience with us. Hope to see you again next year.

Kind Regards,

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

A very nice hotel. Rooms were very nice and situated around an inner courtyard with a pool. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmkcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, General Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Dear dmkcan,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken home some great memories.

Kind Regards,

Paul Flett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stay at this hotel very frequently and have always found staff to be incredibly pro-active and hard working. The hotel is by far the most well appointed in the region and generally things are to "Darwin standards". The rooms have nice flat screen tv's and a good selection of cable tv channels (something often not found in Darwin).

Yes the bathrooms are a bit outdated but at the end of the day it does the job required. Rooms are of a great size to spread out and all are facing inwards towards the pool and gardens.

Airconditioners always work well (a must for the hot conditions), hot water is extraordinary and the beds and pillows are better than you will find anywhere.

Priority Rewards membership makes a big difference if you like the newspaper and some flexibility in checkout time.

I am given a choice of places to stay in the Jabiru/Cooinda area and always choose the Croc. I recommend it highly - just try to get the best price.

Special mention for Jo the manager at the front desk who always makes my stays problem free, I check in and out quickly and my preferences are remembered by staff. THis is very helpful and makes business trips a breeze.

If you are planning Kakadu, stay here and Cooinda - both are great. Get a good deal and eat at the Jabiru Sports Club if the hotel dinners are a bit expensive for you. Hotel food at the croc has always been great, if a little expensive but that comes down to the location - the quality is there.

Room Tip: I always choose rooms on the 2nd floor, although you have to lug bags up (no lift) they are quieter...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sjbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear sjbur,

Thank you for your continued loyalty as a valued Priority Club Member! It is always nice to welcome guests back to the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

Thank you very much for mentioning the Priority Club Rewards program, the largest Loyalty Program in the world, with over 4,000 properties to earn and redeem points.. a complimentary daily newspaper and complimentary late check out are just some of the benefits we can offer you as a Priority Club Member!

We pride ourselves on delivering a truly branded Holiday Inn experience, and we thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn when you next choose to travel.

Kind Regards,

Jo Perry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were spending 2 nights in Kakadu during the Wet and decided to spend a night here as a novelty for our 2 daughters. We also stayed at Cooinda.
The family room with a QB and 2 SBs was excellent. Very clean and enough room for us. Plus easy access to the pool. But as with Cooinda, we only received 3 towels. We could have asked for another but didn't worry about it. We also discovered that the door to the adjoining room was unlocked. Luckily no-one was staying there.
A colony of bats has made its home in the trees in the middle of the complex which made it noisy and a bit messy. The inside garden could do with a good makeover. It was rather messy with lots of weeds. It has so much potential.
The meals were good and arrived promptly. Though this couldn't be said about the drinks. Service was very slow. And because we had a family (teenagers), another family (with toddlers) was put near us which we thought unnecessary.
Breakfast service was excellent and reception was generally very good.
Overall, the rooms were excellent value but the meals expensive. But I guess that can't be helped too much with being in such an isolated area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NettyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gagudju_Hotel_Manage, Front Office Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Dear NettyA,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn and our sister property Gagudju Lodge Cooinda. We do have a number of different bedding configurations to suit individual needs. The pool is always a favourite place to relax and unwind after a long day trekking the wonders of Kakadu National Park.

Did you get a chance to go and see Warradjan Cultural Centre during your stay at Gagudju Lodge Cooinda? I am sure you enjoyed a tasty Crocodile Burger at the Bistro.....

I sincerely hope that your daughters enjoyed the novelty of staying in the Heart of the Crocodile and treasured their experience in Kakadu.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jo Perry
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed here for a night whilst in the area. Looked like a crocodile but you have to be far away to see the shape. Corridior full of local art unafforadble to buy. Swimming pool very small. Clean, room plenty of space beware of noisy birds waking you up early. Supermarket nearby to the rooms, within walking distance across the grass. Credit card did not work in the supermarket! Ate in the restaurant expensive but that is Oz 91.50 AUD for a meal. Beware of Merchant Service fee on your bill.

Room Tip: very indigenious place to stay
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for four days as a base for our stay in the area. Located in the town of Jabiru, close to the uranium mine, and with a few shops within walking distance. We found it good value for money and being the wet season very quiet. The room was quite OK on the ground floor next to the pool. The only problem was the TV with a fuzzy picture and part of the picture missing. Only 1 fuzzy free to air channel was watchable.
The restaurant food was excellent, although the service varied from quite good to "customers are a nuisance" attitude. We later found out that the staff member had worked 21 days straight and this explained the reason. It the only place open for food at night in Jabiru.
Overall, a good place to stay at the right price.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the plant area at the rear.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range: $76 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing