We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Aurora Kakadu Resort(Kakadu National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu(Kakadu National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,259)
Filter reviews
1,259 results
Traveler rating
151
475
421
140
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
475
421
140
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrocodile shapeescarpment restaurantindigenous artshaped hotelunique hotelthe ground floorgift shopwet seasonbit datedboth nightsremote locationbuffet breakfasttop endan oasisyellow waterkakadumiddle
Filter
Updating list...
997 - 1,002 of 1,259 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed one night.
Well managed by Holiday Inn chain.
Expensive in high season, but so is everything else in the top end.
We had a very comfortable nights sleep ready for another Kakadu adventure.

Room Tip: Flying foxes can make a racket down the tail.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OZY50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights recently. It was a comfortable place to stay in such a remote area of the NT and a good base for our excellent day tours out to Arnhem Land and Kakadu. However, it was described as superior standard and this is not an accurate description of the standard. The bathrooms are very tiny and have not been upgraded. They are very dated and need to be redesigned to be more functional. It was nice to have a swim in the pool at the end of the day, but this outdoor area needed a revamp too. There needed to be more staff on reception as we had delays on arrival as well as nearly missed our coach when departing because we had to wait for a long time to get access to our bags even though we clearly politely indicated that we needed them to leave for Darwin on the coach.

Room Tip: don't expect too much, but it is the outback
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Easter long weekend, and while you can't beat this hotel for its location, it is beginning to show its age. Given the lack of other options around there really isn't incentive to improve. The hotel has gone through the worldwide Holiday Inn refresh, so the pillows and soft furnishings are nice and new. The bathroom and exterior furnishings, however, are old and starting to crumble around the edges. We ate at the Bakery for breakfast, and the local pub for dinner so can't comment on the hotel's restaurant. The $50/head buffet sounded uninspiring and expensive, even for the remote location. The pub (down the road) served pretty solid food (Barra burgers and the like) and was significantly cheaper.

Room Tip: Request a King Room - many rooms are Twin.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tristanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. We checked in on May 17th while on a self-guided tour of the Kakadu National Park. The hotel is located in Jabiru which is a very small settlement conveniently located to all the major tourist sites in the northern part of the park. The hotel itself looks like a USA Holiday Inn Express with an aboriginal inspired crocodile theme. In fact it is shaped like a crocodile and your first sight upon entry to the hotel is a large stuffed crocodile in attack mode. The foyer also had an excellent collection of aboriginal art on offer although the prices are a bit astronomical for most tourists. There is no charge to look and frankly they are quite good. The other aspect of this hotel we liked were the foxbats around the pool and the colorful birds outside the hotel if one just walks around among the surrounding trees. The hotel pool is not large and there was always sun worshippers around it. The hotel restaurant is obviously the best in town and quite over priced. For more moderately priced fare try the Kakadu bakery next door for pastries and sandwiches. The hotel does offer in room WIFI at a charge of $10 for one hour of use time. If you are a priority club member, the hotel offers a complimentary welcome reception (free drink and apetizer). We also booked in advance and used AAA to get a discount. After two days of site seeing in Ubirr and Nourlangie and the Yellow River Croc cruise , we enjoyed our stay at this hotel to kick back and get ourselves psyched for our long return back to the USA.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jamusaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

we enjoyed our brief stay and were made very welcome by Chris on the front desk, Carolin in the restaurant and all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WayneCCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews