We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Was very impressed with Jo the front desk manager one of the most friendliest helpful staff we meet in the NT, overall a quality hotel, good meals and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    409
    367
    113
    58
See reviews for
236
573
34
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

hi, thanks somuch for your insightful review, we shall be there this saturday 4 june for my brand new husband's birthday.
sounds like a nice place but maybe we should have booked the oasis Cooinda instead? I shall definitely check it out and place my vies on this site...

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank SeraDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (aged 9 & 12) spent Easter at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn as a base for our Kakadu adventure. Jabiru is an odd little place. There is nothing there. And I mean nothing. At Easter the small supermarket was closed all weekend so the service station was the only shop option for miles. The hotel itself is OK. The staff were fantastic. Really friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel is dated though and in desperate need of an update. Particularly the gloomy restaurant and bar where you tend to want to get in and out of quickly due to lack of ambience. Food in the restaurant and room service was great, as was the buffet breakfast. The rooms have been modernised in terms of beds, linen, fittings but the bathrooms and walls were tired. We had two interconnecting rooms however there two double beds in each room so at a push we could have all fit in one room. The pool was OK but quite small for such a big hotel. If we went to Kakadu again we would prefer to stay at the lovely oasis of Cooinda which is the jumping off point for the fantastic Yellow Water Billabong. Jabiru is a good location for various attractions but check what time of year you visit as even though it was (just) the end of the wet season we were unable to get to Ubirr as the road was flooded.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

My husband and i spent a few nights at the Croc for New year 10/11, we are from Darwin so was a nice getaway. All we planned to do was relax. Check in was efficient, ouor room was excellent, good value for money and very comfortable, very well designed and planned. We ate at the resturaunt a couple of times, is a bit expensive - but there arent too many other options in Jabiru. If you are goignt o Jabiru keep in mind everything will be shut on public holidays. The pool was nice for a quick dip and a cool down, which I took advantage of after the short bush walk over to the visitor centre - worth while and not strenuous at all.

From the exteritor the Croc looks pretty dates, but the refurbished rooms are excellent.

Room Tip: Dining options are limited - bring own food/drinks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nn1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GCHI, Hotel Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

We were pleased to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and well designed. The hotel has recently been refreshed and this has involved new beds, new linen and toweling, choice of hard and soft pillows, massage shower heads and flat screen TV's amoung other refinements.

It was also great to hear that you found our check in efficient and enjoyed our pool, it is certainly a very relaxing part of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

not so great choice in Kakadu area for hotels.
I travelled there in the rainy season, so not many people and I liked that.
The hotel is ok with comfortable rooms, a swimming pool in the middle and free parking. Walking distance from the small village with some facilities.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raffore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GCHI, Hotel Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

We were pleased to hear that you found rooms comfortable. The hotel has recently been refreshed and this has involved new beds, new linen and toweling, choice of hard and soft pillows, massage shower heads and flat screen TV's amoung other refinements.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longreach, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I had been travling for many days in the heat. A kind welcome at the front desk was a great start to my stay after almost a month of living in the bush.

While from the outside, the old looking style made me wonder what the rooms would be like, I was most pleased to find them up to date and fitted out with the best beding and fittings. My air cond was effective and did not make much noise. The bed was just wonderfully compfortable with a choose of pillows (soft, firm etc). My room was on the ground floor and opened up to an internal area that over looked to the pool. A fully stocked mini bar also was very handy.

I was most pleased I stayed and hope to return with someone special in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GCHI, Hotel Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

We were pleased to hear that you found our beds and rooms comfortable and our staff kind and welcoming. The hotel has recently been refreshed and this has involved new beds, new linen and toweling, choice of hard and soft pillows, massage shower heads and flat screen TV's amoung other refinements.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This hotel had comfortable rooms, a great restaurant and a lovely pool. The rooms were very quiet despite ours overlooking the pool. The hotel has an impressive art gallery atteched to Reception and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is centrally located to lots of Kakadu's attractions. We took a scenic flight over the area. This was a little expensive but showed us more of Kakadu than we could have ever seen by car in a year!! We also ate at the Kakadu Bakery which offered cheaper eating options than the hotel's restaurant. We were not aware that Jabiru is a "dry" town - there are no liqour shops and if you want a drink, your only options are the hotel (pricey) or the Sporting Club. Overall we really enjoyed Jabiru, Kakadu and the Gagudju Hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raels216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_GCHI, Hotel Manager at Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn.

We were pleased to hear that you found our beds and rooms comfortable our staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed our restaurant and pool. The hotel has recently been refreshed and this has involved new beds, new linen and toweling, choice of hard and soft pillows, massage shower heads and flat screen TV's amoung other refinements.

As you also mentioned our Art Gallery is a great feature and contains exclusively Indigenous art from the surrounding Kakadu region.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments.

Kind regards,

David Bowen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
26.4 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel

Property: Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Address: Gagudju Crocdile Hi 1 Flinders St, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the marble foyer to the air-conditioned guest rooms, Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel is a cool retreat in the midst of Kakadu National Park s wilderness. This uniquely shaped hotel, just 2 hours drive from Darwin, is the ideal base to explore Ubirr and Nourlangie rock art galleries and view the towering sandstone escarpment of Arnhem Land. The hotel offers 110 guest rooms making the shape of a crocodile which overlook's a central shaded courtyard and swimming pool. Award winning Escarpment Restaurant offers tastes of Kakadu with both buffet and a la carte options available. Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel also has an Indigenous art gallery showcasing works from the Kakadu and Arnhem region. Guests have access to a 9-hole golf course, Olympic-size pool, and tennis courts at neighbouring Jabiru Township. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Hotel Kakadu National Park
Holiday Inn Gagudju Crocodile
Gagudju Crocodile Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing