We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in the middle of a beautiful nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An oasis in the middle of a beautiful nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our trip to Kakadu National park was a success and Aurora certainly contributed to this. It’s in my personal opinion not really a hotel, but more a motel style accommodation. The rooms are spread out over a lovely green field. It is rather basic but definitely not uncomfortable; everything works and is clean. The guest laundry was squeaky clean. The grounds were well maintained.

Don’t let yourself be fooled by your first impression; it might be a bit of a ‘Ooooh' when you first arrive, but it is absolutely fine. And don’t forget where you are…...

The restaurant was absolutely great. Very good food & wines I must say. I do want to have the recipe of your burger as this was really good. I never ever had a better burger anywhere else in the world. What’s your secret chef?

The service was flawless, accommodating and very friendly. Thank you. Breakfast was all you could wish for.

There is no internet and no telephone connection to the “outer world”.….If you need to be connected (yes, who does not these days unfortunately) there is a computer in the Lobby to use. My only remark would therefore be if it might be possible to get some kind of wireless internet going on. I went to the relatively nearby Bowali Visitors Center to get back online as they provide free wireless with a coffee and a sandwich. Excellent Centre by the way.

Aurora Hotel is not in Jabiru (there is another Aurora in Jabiru but these are lodges), which is regarded as the centre of Kakadu National Park. As the roads are very good it is easy to get around. It only takes 30 min to get to Jabiru. (Not much to see there however but there is a supermarket and a medical centre.)

All in all, a good and enjoyable place to stay!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with nobody above you. If your upstairs neighbours like to start a tap-dance compe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qilin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    139
    136
    47
    23
See reviews for
81
222
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from the 10th to the 13th of april with our three boys (12, 9 and 6). We had a large room with a double bed, a bunk bed and a single bed, which was perfect for us. It is a simple hotel but clean and spacious.
The food at the restaurant and at the supermarket in Jabiru is quite expensive so plan your meals; there is a free BBQ at the hotel and a nice fridge in the room.
Nice and warm swimming pool.

Room Tip: We had the best price through Expedia, 30$ cheaper than on the phone... Beware of sport fishermen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leClanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is in need of a makeover it is dated now and maintaince is required in many areas. Doors are peeling the wooden structure of most building need attention. Most of the complex needs painting inside and out. Carpets in dining room are warn and strained.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
1,925 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6,151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Aurora Kakadu is about 45km before jabiru.
There is another Aurora Kakadu located within Jabiru, so don't get the two confused.
A great location to stay on the way to Kakadu, especially if you want to visit the Mamukala wetlands for the prolific birdlife there.
Providing great open spaces and large rooms, a great pool and spa which is centrally located.
Fuel is available and a good restaurant on site also.
Nothing fancy, but a great stay.
P.S. we could not get Wi-Fi here, if that is a must for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

stayed june 2013 and again jan 2014, and got the same room. this suited us as we were very happy with our last stay and knew what we were getting. situated in a green setting, lovely clean cool pool / spa, shady bbq, on site billabong, tavern, shop and petrol station. 40 km's / 20 minutes to jabiru, its closer and cheaper than cooinda. friendly hosts ( kiwi & banana bender). take a club for the cane toads that come out after dark.

Room Tip: up the back is a bit more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at Aurora Kakadu In December 2013. The staff were very welcoming. The room was very spacious. The outside and pool was kept very clean. Free parking outside the building. I really can't find any fault in this hotel. I would come back.

The hotel has their own petrol station, convenience store, tour desk, restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: We stayed on an upper floor, which got us our own balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We paid about $120 for a ensuite room on the second level. The room was really nice, clean and spacious with a high ceiling. The toilets were big as well. The room could sleep 3 - came with a double bed and a single bed, a TV, bar fridge (two bottles of complimentary water given), closet, small table with two chairs and a balcony. There was a thunderstorm on the night when we were there and we lost reception on the TV. The hotel is well-maintained. There is only 1 BBQ area with two pits - if you do want to BBQ, go early! It was a very relaxing stay. Recommended!

Room Tip: Take the upper level for the high ceiling which feels good.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mooks06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
16.1 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
36.0 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Kakadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Property: Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Address: Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Kakadu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Kakadu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Kakadu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing