We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The corellas are magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The corellas are magic”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed her in two rooms for two nights with my 87 year old mother, my brother and sister in law. Firstly, Kakadu is expensive. Everywhere. But you need to keep in mind that Kakadu is isolated. The costs and quality reflect this. Camping was not an option for us so we had to book hotel accommodation. We stayed two nights here and one night in another place closer to the Yellow Water billabong. The standard of accommodation is at best a low 3 stars. It feels a bit like an American holiday camp with groups of two-story wood buildings, each holding several hotel-type rooms. It is reasonably comfortable but a bit shabby. There were a few annoyances. Our air conditioner sounded like a 747 airplane and could not be adjusted. Our screen door was difficult to slide open or shut. The aerator in our bathroom sink flew out of the tap the first time I turned the tap on. The TV was old and temperamental. Our room cost of $205 per room included a substantial and tasty buffet breakfast. We also had the dinner buffet at an extra cost of $30 per person which was equally tasty. The staff in the dining room were delightful. The highlight though is the antics of the corellas that visit en masse a couple of times a day for play-time in the trees. My family spent one afternoon just watching these lovely, but very destructive, birds. And after watching their antics it became obvious how difficult it would be to maintain this property as they chewed absolutely everything. Of the two places we stayed in Kakadu, Aurora Kakadu was to my mind better value, quite simply because of the free entertainment provided by the corellas and the pleasant restaurant staff.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues make sure you ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    150
    138
    51
    26
See reviews for
88
232
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The lovely reception lady gave us a warm welcome ,gave us a run down on the area and we picked a spot and had a great campsite for 3 days.The mozzies get a bit out of control but nothing some Bushman and a few mozzie coils can't beat.This spot was a real find as it is away from ant town (35kms from Jabiru) but has its own fantastic billabong and 3.5kw walk.We used it as a base.The kids loved the pool at the end of a hot days exploring.We found a great shady spot with powere(same price as unpowered).We cheated and had a great meal in the dining room.There is a real mix at this place.They rooms looked nice and clean but we had our own camper trailer.Would recommend it highly.The South Alligator just down the Road is a true Kakadu Sunset highlight on the way back from the East.

Room Tip: We chose a spot near power but be careful as the further to the rear of the campground the closer yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yurugaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Aurora Kakadu for two nights, having already stayed two nights at Gagadju Lodge Cooinda. We were on holidays, staying with our 4 yo and 2 yo children. We were in a family room, which was one very large room with a queen bed, and three singles. The accommodation was basic, but it was very clean with new linen, a flat screen tv, bar fridge and big bathroom. The bathroom was fairly dated but perfectly adequate for what we needed. The grounds were absolutely beautiful, with a great pool in the middle of them, and fabulous birds in the trees. Having stayed at Cooinda we were prepared for the restaurant to be expensive but it was actually a bit cheaper and the food was infinitely better - really good. We had lovely pizzas, a great pasta one night and delicious salt and pepper squid. There were also very good kids meals, and a buffet. The restaurant had a lovely slightly more formal atmosphere, and there was also a more relaxed outdoor area with dining tables and chairs, as well as a separate pub - something for everyone. The whole food and restaurant experience was much better than Cooinda . The other thing that set Aurora Kakadu apart was the staff who were friendly and helpful, and remembered us day to day, chatting to our kids the next morning having met them the night before. The only drawbacks I would mention are slightly noisy air conditioning, and no mobile coverage or internet. However, it was actually nice to be 'off air' for a few days, and we gathered that they are looking in to putting wireless internet in. Also, be aware that Aurora Kakdu is 40 kms from Jabiru, and on the furthest edge of the park from the other main attractions - it is a good location for visiting Ubirr, but would take a bit longer to get to Yellow waters, Nourlangie etc. Having said that, I would highly recommend Aurora Kakadu as a base for exploring the park, particularly with a family.

Room Tip: If you're in a downstairs room there can be a little bit of noise from upstairs, although if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cockerspanielfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Aurora Kakadu South Alligator in July 2013. We were very happy with everything we experienced: the price, room, service, breakfast and dinner, plus the resort surrounds. We would certainly stay there again if we return and will strongly recommend it to friends and family who may go that way in the future. For a remote facility we were indeed pleasantly surprised by the reasonable prices overall, and the quality of food offering. Our stay was in a deluxe room, 2 night minimum B&B arrangement, and apparently some other rooms may not as up-to-date as ours was. We can only comment on what we experienced - excellence across the board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokotd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast Qld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not suitable for an elderly, solo woman. With poorly lit pathways and a room allocated to me a long way from reception and the dining room, I had great difficulty finding my room and was unable to carry my bag up the steep stairs. Another couple also having difficulty in finding their room, assisted me with my bag, otherwise it would have been disastrous for me.
I requested a room closer to facilities when I arrived, but was told that was not possible. The room, itself was clean and comfortable, but the fact the room was upstairs and difficult to locate in the dim light, spoilt the experience. At my request next morning, my baggage was carried downstairs and to the foyer.

Room Tip: I would suggest, if travelling on tour, to check about location of the room when booking, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kakadu National Park hotels

Sutton Coldfield
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Extremely pleasant staff, simple but perfectly adequate room and a great location for exploring the northern end of Kakadu. We regretted not being able to spend more time here. The Saturday night buffet in the restaurant was very good and decent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukajoreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This wasn't the best accommodation we had on our trip by any means.
The room we managed to get was one large spacious room with enough beds for our family of 5. It was for 1 night only so we didn't mind.

The staff at check in were extremely helpful, as they had been when booking us in as well as providing us with local information via email before our stay so we could organise our time well.

The restaurant served nice food but as others have said before I felt it was a little pricey. But when it's your only option you go with it.

The only issues I had is the fact that the sliding door on our room didn't close but there was a safety chain to keep it closed. Unfortnately we were in a downstairs room which meant we heard everything upstairs - the conversation, tv, walking around the shower running, the toilet flushing etc. It was rundown but clean.....

Overall, it was okay. It was only for 1 night. Would consider staying there again for 1 night only.

Room Tip: As for an upstairs room if you don't want to hear noises coming from upstairs all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingwoodburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
1,133 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
16.1 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.0 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Kakadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Property: Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Address: Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Kakadu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Kakadu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Kakadu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing