We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service”

Warradjan Cultural Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$196.35*
and up
Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The people from Murumburr, Mirrar Gun-djeihmi, Badmardi, Bunitj, Girrimbitjba, Manilakarr, Wargol and other clans have combined to create an exciting and memorable exhibit. The exhibit touches on hunting techniques by the clans, the recent history of the park, blood lines and marriage rights, tribal elder stories and the effects of white settlement in the Top End.Warradjan Cultural Centre is free to enter.
Darwin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“poor service”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rude service from staff. When asked where we could swim, were told the local swimming pool. Yes the pool is in the brochure, but the natural swimming holes are not. I didn't visit Kakadu to go to a swimming pool. Also given a negative impression of the park from staff about safety. i had a wonderful time at the park, but felt like an inconvenience and an idiot for asking questions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch G, Manager at Warradjan Cultural Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your experience of Warradjan Cultural Centre.

The level of service we provide to our guests is crucial to the success of our business and I was concerned that we have not delivered on our promise during your visit to Kakadu.

May i please ask you to contact me via a Trip Advisor message so that i can gain some further information regarding your experience.

Thank you for taking your time to bring this to my attention.

Many Thanks,

Mitch Gawthorn
Director of Rooms and Retail Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    67
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkes
Level Contributor
86 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Warradjan Cultural Centre”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Worth a visit - very informative and well displayed. Would have liked to have seen more local arts and crafts in the gift shop.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Athena4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch G, Manager at Warradjan Cultural Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We work very closely with the local indigenous communities, as a result of our close connection we purchase all handmade artwork on a weekly basis to display and sell in the Cultural Centre.

Due to the time of your visit we may have been low on the variety of artwork that we were selling. I will speak with the Warradjan Cultural Centre Manager to ensure that in future we hold a larger amount of variety for our guests to view and purchase.

Did you get the chance to do a Yellow Water Cruise during your trip to Kakadu? The Sunrise cruise is spectacular. Definitely an experience not to be missed.

Wishing you a successful future.

Best regards,

Mitch Gawthorn
Director of Rooms and Retail Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Herts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An un-sophisticated, interesting, hour or so”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

There is plenty to see and read about the local people; their customs, crafts and life-skills - a lot in their own words. Certainly worth putting an hour or so aside to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteCloud_1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch G, Manager at Warradjan Cultural Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you once again for you personal view of your experience of Warradjan Cultural Centre.
We love having guests such as yourself that give us feedback for each department and i make special mention to your previous comments regarding your Yellow Water Cruise and Gagudju Lodge Cooinda.

We are very proud of the Warradjan Cultural Centre and how it plays a significant part in the cultural awareness for our guests.

Did you know that in 2010; IHG launched the Australian hospitality industries strongest commitment to equal opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islanders to date, becoming the first hotel company to establish a Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP), recognised by Reconciliation Australia.

Held within IHG's RAP is having 2% of its Australian workforce made up of Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islanders by 2013. As of January 2012, over 20% of the workforce at Gagudju Lodge Cooinda and 40% of it's tour guides are indigenous.

The RAP was launched in ceremony with the Bininj people of Kakadu and the COO Australasia IHG, Bruce McKenzie, on the waters of Yellow Water Billabong.

It makes us feel proud to operate Warradjan Cultural Centre to help you experience the true culture of the local Aboriginal people.

Wishing you a fabulous 2012!

Best Wishes,

Mitch Gawthorn
Director of Rooms and Retail Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Aboriginal culture”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This display is well done. There is a lot of information about aboriginal tribes from the area and a good attempt has been made to familiarize visitors with local lore and culture. It could benefit from a more succinct layout eg: bullet points for streamlining information.Someone on hand to answer questions would be helpful,too.
However, It is well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuliaA565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch G, Manager at Warradjan Cultural Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to provide your thoughts regarding your experience of Warradjan Cultural Centre. We love hearing that this main attraction in Kakadu National Park has been memorable for you.

We are very proud of Warradjan Cultural Centre and feel that the traditional Aboriginal land owners (Bininj) have provided some interesting information and facts which helps gauge a real understanding of their country and their culture.

Did you know that The Gagudju Dreaming business has funded an Indigenous Employment Program for several years with hundreds of Indigenous youth participating in the program over the years. In recent times, this has been more focused on local indigenous youth in order to provide employment opportunities, development, education and all of the benifits that this brings to a remote community. It is worthy to note that a mile stone has recently been achieved where the local Traditional Owners have increased their ownership shares of the business which is a great achievement

Wishing you the very best for the remainder of the year!

Best Wishes,

Mitch Gawthorn
Director of Rooms and Retail Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was pitched perfectly. The exhibits were well presented and explanations were concise and clear. A lot of dignity in this place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AucklandOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Warradjan Cultural Centre, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your visit to Warradjan Cultural Centre.

The people from Murumburr, Mirrar Gun-djeihmi, Badmardi, Bunitj, Girrimbitjba, Manilakarr, Wargol and other clans have combined to create an exciting and memorable exhibit. The exhibit touches on hunting techniques by the clans over different seasons, the recent history of the park, blood lines and marriage rights, tribal elder stories and the effects of white settlement in the Top End.

We believe that the cultural centre is a must see when you are visiting Kakadu National Park and are happy to know that you are happy with how we operate this within Kakadu National Park.

The Aboriginal traditional land owners (Bininj) of Kakadu National Park have wanted to tell the story about their culture for a long time. Through the displays and exhibitions we are displaying we believe that you can gain an understanding of the Bininj and their country. This in turn is creating a greater cultural awareness for all visitors.

We do hope that you choose to bring more family and friends to the Top End to experience everything we have to offer. Did you have the chance to visit Jim Jim and Twin Falls with our Gagudju Adventure Tour??

If you have any photos that you would like to show us from your trip to Kakadu National Park, we would love to see them. You can post these on our Facebook page - Gagudju Dreaming.

Wishing you a wonderful 2012

Mitch Gawthorn
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warradjan Cultural Centre also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Warradjan Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing