We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunrise cruise was a great start to the day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Water Cruises

Yellow Water Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A JOURNEY THROUGH KAKADU's WETLANDSYellow Water Billabong, Kakadu's most famous wetland, is located at the end of Jim Jim Creek, a tributary of the South Alligator River. The river system, which is the largest in Kakadu, contains extensive wetlands that include river channels, floodplains and backwater swamps.WILDLIFEAbout one third of Australia's bird species are represented in Kakadu National Park, with at least 60 species found in the wetlands. Whistling Ducks and Magpie Geese are the most abundant. Our guides run a competition between themselves on who can find "the big five" on one cruise - all five species of kingfisher that can be found in Kakadu. One species is only 2 cm tall. There are plenty of crocodiles in their natural habitat, and buffalo on the floodplains. A hugeJabiru's nest is nearby, and depending on the season, Brolgas can be found dancing. THE EXPERIENCEYellow Water Cruises, winner of the 2011 and 2009 NT Brolga Tourism Award for Major Tourist Attraction operates exclusively on Yellow Water Billabong. It operates year round and provides up to six cruises a day of 90 or 120 minute duration. The sunrise and sunset cruise are very popular and advance bookings are recommended. Often people undertake more than one cruise to see the changes in the wildlife at different times of the day. More should experience a cruise in different seasons. We can never guarantee what will happen on a cruise, but every time is a unique experience. OUR GUIDESAll of our experienced guides are ticketed with the Kakadu Knowledge and are often supported by our Indigenous Employment Program trainees that give fascinating insights into how the Bininj people use the flora and fauna to support their way of life. They are inducted with a 12 week training program. Some guides have been with us for over 8 years. YELLOW WATER FISHINGYellow Water Fishing provides an opportunity to catch the famous barramundi on Kakadu's most famous billabong. These tours are perfect for families or the keen angler and last for 2-3 hours depending on the time of day. Groups of up to 4 people only. Bookings essential. Yellow Water Cruises are the best way to experience the wetlands of Kakadu and it will be an experience remembered for a lifetime.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunrise cruise was a great start to the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Watching the sunrise as you head off on the cruise was magical. The air was crisp, the water was still. The crocs eyed us off as we glided slowly by.

The bird life was the main thing we went on this tour for, as we'd seen plenty of crocs by this time of our trip. But we did see quite a few crocs on this tour too.

We saw so many birds it was amazing - from the Azure Kingfisher, Jacana (and chicks!), Spoonbill, lots of different Herons, Sea Eagles, pelicans, Jabiru and more...

Our guide helped us to look in the right direction to see everything, plus we had a couple of bird experts on our trip. Their ability to see and identify lots of different birds was amazing and added to our experience.

I'd recommend doing this tour at either sunrise or sunset, as you'll see more birds then. Plus it's not so darn hot! The cool morning air was gorgeous! Even in early Sept, the days got up to around 36 degrees Celsius by lunch-time/early afternoon.

After the cruise, breakfast is served back at the Resort in Cooinda (and the cost is included in the tour fee). Free bus pick up and drop off is available out front of the resort too. We stayed at the resort the night before, which made it very convenient when getting up early. Then we headed off to Katherine after breakfast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrisvegasDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    141
    41
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go during Sunrise or Sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Yellow Water Cruise operates throughout the year with excellent guides {I'm so amazed at their ability to spot the various animals!} and provides a marvellous opportunity to see the varied wildlife e.g. crocodiles, whistling ducks, kingfishers, magpie geese of Kakadu's wetlands. The colours and natural beauty that greeted us was just breathtaking and so surreal.

My compact camera and iPhone couldn't capture the scenery nicely, but it was a blessing since I could just sit back and truly enjoy the ride without worrying about capturing the perfect shot. Moments like these are meant to be experienced with your eyes and soul, not through the camera lens.

Don't forget to bring your sunglasses {from the morning glare} and binoculars when you go! And maybe extra clothes for the kids in case they get wet.

For more tips on what to do in Kakadu National Park + photos, see here: http://www.sakuraharuka.com/2013/09/australia-2013-kakadu-national-park.html

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ai_Sakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamuran
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eye-opening sunrise cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our sunrise was heralded by a sea eagle plucking a large fish from the billabong only 10 metres from the boat, and about the same distance from the wharf!! This spectacle was less than 5 minutes after we boarded the boat! The remainder of the cruise on the billabong and the Adelaide River was simply beyond any expectation. The wildlife was in abundance, and we were able to park beside a huge crocodile for several minutes. Wonderful experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John_DWamuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The highlight of your trip to Kakadu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My family (two adults and two teenage children) chose to undertake this tour at the 9:00 am departure schedule as we were told the later tours do not provide enough wildlife throughout the billabong for viewing. We left our accommodation at Jabiru in the morning and arrived promptly before departure. Make sure you arrive well before the your cruise departs otherwise the boat will depart without you (as happened with some other tourists who were booked on our same trip).
Upon boarding we were warmly greeted by both Nathaniel and Mandy (a local indigenous lady who also comes along to share her knowledge). As with other reviews on this website, Nathaniel is worth his weight in gold in terms of his diverse knowledge and appreciation for the flora and fauna throughout the vast billabong. His friendliness coupled with his passion for the job certainly makes the cruise all the more amazing. Luckily, we had most of the boat to ourselves as the cruise was less than a quarter full (two boats were filled to maximum capacity in the earlier morning session), which provided all of us to move about the vessel as we pleased, providing optimal access to view both sides of the diverse wetland setting.
Mandy noted that we were only a small group and even moved the boat closer to some water lotus flowers and picked them so we were able to try some of their seeds (a traditional indigenous food) which was a great cultural aspect of the experience.
Two days earlier, the Northern Territory Government had culled several water buffalo in the region and this caused around 5 full sized carcasses float around upstream, directly in the path of the cruise. This was extremely smelly due to the methane erupting from their rotting remains but provided a once in a lifetime experience in terms of crocodile exposure!! The entire boat was surrounded by 30+ full size, wild, living, breathing, dangerous crocodiles!!! We snapped some extremely rare shots of them taking turns attacking and death rolling the remains which was confronting but something which certainly won't be forgotten!!
This experience - coupled with a lovely day, the sun shining, the clear blue sky, reflective waters, extremely lovely, polite, thoroughly informative and engaging crew (Nathaniel and Mandy) satisfied the conditions for a perfect cruise. Although the price may seem a tad stiff to some, please be aware that the entire full 2 hours are used to accommodate an unforgettable experience for anyone wishing to experience the beautiful wetlands of the Kakadu National Park. I cannot recommended this experience enough!! Do yourself a favour and book this cruise!! :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Still water, sunset with hidden crocss.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did the sunset cruise. At first it was hot but once underway the gentle breeze from the boat was cooling. Soon we started seeing all sorts of wild life, from birds, fish, horses, buffalos and big and little crocs.
At sunset, the boat was stopped and our guide started playing the diggeridu. It was an surreal experience. Give you a feeling of what it must felt like over the centuries with the aboriginal people.
The only thing comparable is the Sound of Silence dinner at Uluru.
A must do if you are going to Kakadu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank funholiday70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Water Cruises also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Yellow Water Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing