We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary River roadhouse”

Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Mary River roadhouse”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A great experience to talk to senior traditional owners. Swimming, Barra fishing, camping, diamond mines, great little campsite, open showers..........like Mash tv series but in the wilds of Kakadu, dingos yelping, best every eggbsandwiches, ......next time I will take a helicopter ride.

Saw newly replanted motel rooms and backpacker bunk beds available.......all for very very reasonable prices.

No mobile coverage...............petrol prices very reasonable. Sitting outside was almost like the month of July not April.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Hotelsareourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    18
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amed
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yahooooooo in Kakado national park, Darwin ,Australia”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

go by guided buss tour and order flight over the park on the bussride....amazing place to be in the wet season...i am going back in the dry season to fish and hunt with the local people.....

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank hakonAmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is one of the most pristine areas we have been to. It has to be on the top 100 things to do before you die. You need plenty of water a good hat and walking shoes. It is a beautiful place to visit. You need a couple of days to take it all in from the animal life to the unbelievable rock art this is a must and the scenery is spectacular.Great camoing facilities also and most parts are easy to get too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank OutthereWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
196 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Kakdu Air”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The roads were closed because of the wet season so we flew out of Jabiru in the Kakadu Air helicopter over Jim Jim and Twin Falls. It was amazing. Tate, our pilot, did a great job narrating and flying. He took us low and slow over the falls and wetlands. Tate had taken the front doors off, it was incredible to feel the 90 knot wind just outside the bubble and to take photos without the distorting Perspex in the way. The breeze was nice and cool. We will remember the flight long after we have forgotten the price. Thanks Tate.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Onyl way to go.”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I am a very nervous person when flying, so it was with considerable angst, I decided to take the flying tour over Kakadu. We went up in a 3 seater plus pilot, plane. This is small!. But, when we began to actually fly over this beautiful land across part of the Arnhem land escarpment, followed the east Alligator river, following it for many miles, over the uranium mine, it was magic.To see so clearly the flood plains, the dry areas, the colours of the rocks and the actual vastness, it is actually larger than Texas, reminded why I love this country. Our pilot knew what he was talking about and gave plenty of information.It is not cheap $200+, but if you wish to see this wilderness, take the flight.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Kakadu Gorge and Waterfall Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing