We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour Company!!!”

Alex on the Beach & Amazing Tours
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Sardinal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer you the best tours in Costa Rica and we are waiting for you to show you Costa Rica the way you like..
Putnam, CT
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Tour Company!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from our first trip to Costa Rica during the week of September 15, 2013 with some friends. The country is amazingly beautiful and we would highly recommend it to anyone. This time of year is the rainy season, it rained almost every day in the afternoon, but that did not stop us from doing anything we wanted to do. The sun was extremely hot when it came out in full force so we welcomed the rain showers that came along.

We booked the all day ultimate excursion on Tuesday with “Alex on the Beach”. Alex was our tour guide and it was just the four of us in our group. The tour included hiking through the rainforest to an incredible waterfall for a cool off swim (this was on the bucket list of one of our group, so she was quite ecstatic to do that), we normally would have driven, but since this time of year is the rainy season the road was impassible because of the mud. The mud is extremely slippery, as I can attest by the mud that ended up all over my shorts when I slipped and fell! The next part was zip lining, there were 11 runs in total for that. I really wasn’t too keen on the HUGE spiders that were in the area where you get your harness, but they didn’t bother us. After zip lining, we went for lunch – bottom line the food was amazing! After lunch we went horseback riding, and then hiking to another waterfall. We ended the day at the geothermal feature. This included a walk through the geothermal area, Alex was a wealth of knowledge throughout this whole trip, but he really seemed very excited about this area in particular. Costa Rica traps the geothermal steam to use for electricity – it’s very clean and quite plentiful. We sat in the sauna for 15 minutes, and then went into the mud bath. The mud is very beneficial to your skin and was quite enjoyable. After the mud bath was done, we were able to shower off, then onto the water slide. You sit in a concrete chute with a tire tube wrapped around you (to protect you from getting scraped up) and you are literally “flushed” down in pairs, they open the gate and a gush of cold water hits you in the back and down you go. To end the day we were able to sit in one of the Hot Springs and that was just the perfect end to a jam packed, fun filled day that started at 7:30 a.m. and ended at 7:30 p.m. Alex then told us about an excursion that goes into the national park and includes a river boat tour. We booked this for Thursday and were not disappointed with that one either. We saw many different types of birds on this tour, along with plant life and two crocodiles. One was a whole lot bigger than the other – 15 feet long. He came right up to the boat. We saw Howler monkeys in the trees along the river, as well. After the tour we went for lunch – once again the food was amazing. After lunch we stopped at a pottery shop. The owner came out and showed us how he makes the pottery, what they use to paint it with and gave us a little bit of history as to what the different symbols on the pottery mean. I bought a beautiful vase and my husband bought a bowl. We carried them both onto the airplane; unfortunately the bowl did not make it back in one piece. Alex then dropped us off in Coco Beach to do a little shopping. We did some souvenir shopping then went to Coconutz Sports Bar & Eatery for happy hour. Alex picked us up that morning at 7:30, we were supposed to be back to the resort for around 1 p.m., we didn’t get back until 6:00 p.m., another fun filled day. We would highly recommend “Alex on the Beach” for any excursions you may want to do. You can find representatives for their company right on the beach at the Riu, they are wearing white polo type shirts that say “Alex on the Beach”, and you won’t be disappointed with them.

All in all, the trip to the Riu Guanacaste, the tours with “Alex on the Beach”, the massages with Juanita and Marlen were all worth every penny and we would do it all over again.

Pura Vida!!!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank CTKellyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    51
    9
    6
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience of Costa Rica in one package”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We did the Llanos de Cortez Waterfall and Miravalles Volcano (super combo) - 4. Before getting to Costa Rica we knew we wanted to do an excursion. We were approached by several, and I mean several, vendors on the beach but the first person that approached us was Norman, a sales guy from "Alex on the beach". We didnt immediately book bc we wanted to see other offers but ultimately went with that company bc it had the most to offer at the best price. We picked the super combo package bc it literally had everything. It was such a great experience. The first waterfall was amazingly beautiful. We stayed there for about 20-30min. Then headed to another location, horseback riding, hanging bridge, short hike through the woods, view of two hidden waterfalls. The waterside, mud bath and hot springs were awesome.. The lunch was typical Costa Rican food and gave us a taste of the real food, which was tasty! .. Then we finally went zip
lining. It was literally everything in one package, couldn't have asked for more. We were very satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jazz8608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had read excellent reviews about Alex on the beach. We decided that we would try them out. We had them pick us up at the airport as a test. Not only were they there ahead of time, they were at the curb ready to go. They got us to the hotel way ahead of everyone else on the plane. They gave us an awesome tour on the way in. Once we were there we used them exclusively for all of our excursions. We did: zip lining, horseback riding, jungle river on an inter tube, ATV tour of beaches, and a private jungle tour with a nature center.

Every one of our tours was just us and another couple or two. This made everything go more smoothly. We also payed way less than those who booked through the resort. I found them to be professional, polite, and prompt. We recommended them to everyone we talked with. We then had them take us to the airport.

If you are going to the Riu Guanacaste, make sure you look for the guys on the beach with the yellow shirts. We mostly dealt with Serigo, who became a good friend by the end of the trip.

I would highly recommend them. http://www.alexonthebeach.com/

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank infantryman556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“costa rica amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Juan Carlos was our our guide and was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. He showed and taught us lots about Guanacaste and Costa Rican culture. We saw two amazingly beautiful waterfalls, suspension bridges, monkeys, and even a sloth in a tree on the road! We had an absolutely delicious lunch at the Miravalles waterfall and really enjoyed walking around the volcanic activity. Unfortunately it began raining extremely hard on our tour, so we were not able to do the hot springs, mud bath, or waterslide :( Juan Carlos felt so bad for us because we almost missed out on zip lining too! He made quick arrangements for us to go to a different zip line where it was not raining. This group is definitely the way to go for rustic Costa Rica and the most bang for your buck!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We miss Alex Already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The 6 of us spent 3 of our 7 days at the Riu with Alex on the Beach. He was so wonderful, knowledgeable, warm, and accommodating. Our kids,10 and 5, mentioned how much they would miss him when we left to come home! Alex, if you are reading this - THANK YOU for making us love your country as much as you clearly do.

We did the MegaCombo tour. All 6 of us, ages 5-60+ did the zipline and it was exhilarating. The hanging bridges had to be the highlight though. We went early evening, and Alex found the Howler Monkeys. It was fascinating, amazing and I can't say enough how much we appreciate his accommodation while we were there. We also did the Palo Verde trip one day and a side trip to the gorgeous waterfall you see highlighted in the profile picture. CALL ALEX. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stlkerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alex on the Beach & Amazing Tours also viewed

Sardinal, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Matapalo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
Sardinal, Gulf of Papagayo
 

Been to Alex on the Beach & Amazing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing