We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Tica Linda

Restaurante Tica Linda
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Sardinal
Cuisines: Soups, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tongeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here in december 2013 because we had booked the eco lodge Rara Avis and the office was only a five minut walk away from it. The owners were so friendly and they helped us with all our questions. The rooms were quite big, nice and clean. There was tv and hot water so everything you need. The food is excellent and not expensive, also the breakfast was super. You could ask anything you want. When we came back from rara avis we stayed there a second time just because we liked it so much and we could really use some rest. There isn't a lot to do in the neigborhood but when you're travelling around it's a very nice stop. But when you are there you should visit Frog's Heaven, it's only a couple of streets away and you will be suprised.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReneeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Monteverde and then again on the way back. We tried casado with beef, the chicken sandwich, and a cheeseburger. The casado was yummy! We were also pleasantly surprised by the tastiness of the sandwich and cheeseburger and they were only about $3 each. Super cheap! A great little place to catch a very local vibe. Our waitress was nice but service in general was just average. They take credit card.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BDDono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite Place on the Road”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stop here almost every time we drive to or from Monteverde. We love the place. Good prices. Great food. Always clean. Friendly staff.
I don't understand the review where the people had their possessions stolen from their car. Maybe they have the wrong restaurant. Tica Linda has no walls and the cars are parked right there. You'd see somebody pull up.
I also like to watch the birds while at Tica Linda. At sunset parrots are flying in from all over to roost in the trees across the street. The parking area trees also have a variety of birds to watch.
Once a Tico rider came by and put on a show with his horse. Fantastic place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraD656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family-friendly place to catch a bite to/from Monteverde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We landed at this place incidentally while driving back from Monteverde to Tamarindo via Rte 606 at Sardinal. Great setting, good selection of seafood options, and good service. The last one - while the staff is not bilingual, they really do make an attempt to understand and were very helpful in meeting the needs of 2 year old who has limited eating options.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ameetkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice roadside restaurant on way to/from Monteverde”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice seating under huge roof. Surrouded by some nice gree, and playground for kids right next to it. Parking right in front. Spacious. Good Tica fare, at very fair prices. Big portions. I loved the chuletas.... accept creidtcard.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oxygen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Tica Linda also viewed

Sardinal, Gulf of Papagayo
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Sardinal, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Restaurante Tica Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing