We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfy”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage,  restored former harbour building which overlooks the slipway (inset photo).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage,  restored former harbour building which overlooks the slipway (inset photo).
Rear showing marine themed sitting area Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Front of cottage,  restored former harbour building which overlooks the slipway (inset photo).
Rear showing marine themed sitting area
Entrance
Kitchen
Dining area
Seating area
Seating area
Seating area
Downstairs cloakroom
Double-bedded room
Twin-bedded room
Bathroom (shower over bath)
Landing seating area
View from landing seating area
View outside Harbourside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BeechBabe...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very comfy”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great cottage, very comfy & cosy, friendly owners.

We stayed for a week in October as a family of three plus a dog. The walks from the cottage were great, a mixture of woodland and beach. A lovely fresh spring flows on to the beach just in front of the pub... great for cleaning the dog and wellies of the mud!

Forestry commission walks are good especially from the Kirroughtree centre, with walks for all abilities.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Lovely to hear that the Oliver family enjoyed their stay at Harbourside Cottage as they were perfect guests. Many thanks, Betty and Cliff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y2446YZst...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Definitely the best equipped self-catering holiday rental I have ever been in. They seem to have thought of everything and would thoroughly recommend to visitors.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you so much for your positive feedback - it's always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Hope you will visit us again one day. Betty and Cliff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jewelslin...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for our son's birthday.
It was a beautiful drive up from Newcastle and we hoped to be just as lucky once there.
We were greeted from the owner who showed us around the most wonderful cottage based in the front of the harbour. It was beautiful inside and out.
Excellent decor, two lovely sized bedrooms with views over the little harbour.
The kitchen was small but was fully equipped and the living room was superb too.
An extra downstairs toilet was great, so no fighting over the bathroom.
We were blessed with excellent weather all week, which was great because there were some fabulous little walks to do before breakfast with the sea on one side and countryside on the other. The best of both worlds.
Would definitely go back. The owner was welcoming, friendly and chatted with my husband about motorbikes as her husband had one too. She made us feel as if we had been going for years.
Great for families but a car is a must, to see the surrounding area. We have been going to Scotland for over 25 years now, for fishing, walking and camping and do not tire of it. Garliston is a great base, it is a must to be explored.
Lovely little pub at the other end of the village for excellent fish and chips and steak dinners.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
So glad to know that the family enjoyed their stay as they were perfect guests. Tell Terry the Triumph is running now - it's a Gold Wing trike we now can't get started! Hope you will visit again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmcareer
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Location, Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay and the cottage is well appointed with large comfortable rooms for relaxing after a day out exploring. The decor is light and inviting, the kitchen is well stocked with dishes, hot water kettle, clothes washer/dryer, etc. The bathrooms are also well stocked, clean and spacious. The owner is very easy to work with both prior to and after arrival.
And the location allowed us easy lovely drives to explore many different sites, like the Mull of Galloway. Also the location is quiet and offers great off the road parking.
Overall this property was exactly what we had been looking for and we would highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Always good to know our guests have enjoyed themselves and if you are ever passing this way again you will be most welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
1 review
“Harbourside Cottage”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely break in beautiful cottage well equipped cottage in Garlieston.

Would definitely go back.

Real home from home!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you Frank and Caroline - always good to know that our guests have had a good time. And perfect guests at that. Hope you return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliH8691
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage..cant wait to return!”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We arrived feeling stressed and tired (from work) and left feeling incredibly refreshed and relaxed..thank you Betty you were absolutely right about the cottage and the area!
We had a wonderful week in Harbourside Cottage which is in a great location with views of Garlieston harbour and easy access to the coastal path.
Booking was easy and Betty was on hand to meet us when we arrived with a lovely warm welcome. The cottage is spacious, tastefully decorated, well equipped and comfortable.
We loved the area...lots to explore and see; great walks; good places to eat and drink..finding a friendly welcome wherever we went. Have listed some places below and attached pictures...In order, walk to Rigg Bay; Wigtown; Isle of Whithorn; Galloway Forest Park; Mull of Galloway Lighthouse; Portpatrick Harbour & finally view from cottage itself of Garlieston Bay (we saw some stunning sunsets). As you can see we were very lucky with the weather. All I can say is...book and you won't regret it!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It is good to get reviews but even better to hear that our guests have had a great time and left feeling refreshed. And you were the perfect guests. Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 15, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2017
So good to hear of our visitors enjoying their stay in Wigtownshire and feeling so at home in Harbourside Cottage. Linda and Peter were perfect guests and we do hope they will visit us again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing