We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant”
other travelers have booked this property
Front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front
Front of Cottage - Ideal place for BBQ and glass of vine. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front
Front of Cottage - Ideal place for BBQ and glass of vine.
Lounge
Hall
Old Photo of Cottage
Railway Station - How the Cottage used to look
Garlieston Bay - 1 mile from the cottage.
Garlieston Bay
Garlieston - Play Park
Garlieston - Football & Tennis Courts
Garlieston - Birthplace of Mulberry Harbour 1943
Double Room with double aspect windows.
Safe enclosed area
Garlieston Bay in the sunshine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sean w
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just arrived home from a fantastic stay at this wonderful cottage. It has everything you need to make your stay a home from home. The views are great and it's peaceful and very relaxing. Had a few days out and the small harbour village of Portpatrik is a must see place to visit. All in all it was brilliant and we will be back.
Many thanks to Linda.
Sean, Julie and Jack.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie G
Muthill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tranquillity”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic cottage with many personal touches, flowers and cake on arrival makes your arrival memorable, great place for long countryside walks, beach nearby and lots of local attractions and places to eat, would recommend this holiday home to everyone who wants a quiet and relaxing holiday is well equipped with everything you need, spacious, warm and fantastic veiws. Great value for money, going to book again for next year as soon as I get home. Truly amazing.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and the cottage was just like a hime from home
Liked least: weather was wet but still a lovely place to stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab place to stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The Old Station House is a great country location, quiet and cosy and within walking distance to Garlieston village and beach. Well appointed kitchen and enjoyed the lovely home cooked cake left for us. We were able to enjoy the surroundings at a leisurely pace.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, but close to village.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, central retreat”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Station House very much because of the peacefulness of its surroundings. It allowed us to wind down and recharge ourselves before resuming our hectic lives.
A lovely home baked cake and fresh flowers welcomed us on our arrival.
Besides rest and relaxation, we enjoyed bike riding and walking along quiet roads.
We would highly recommend this cosy house and location.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness,
Liked least: The weather for the time of the year but facilities were ideal for our restful holiday.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful peaceful setting”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage had a few minor imperfections but it did not spoil our stay, is in a very tranquil setting, my husband and I took our 5 year old granddaughter and my daughter and her friend followed us up later in the week, none of us wanted to leave.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the cottage
Liked least: The kitchen chairs and floor needed reparing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing