We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Special”
The Folly at Castlebridge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Folly at Castlebridge
The grounds below the Folly The Folly at Castlebridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Folly at Castlebridge
The grounds below the Folly
The Folly at Castlebridge
The view across fields towards Mere
Stourhead Gardens, Wiltshire
Bath, Royal Crescent
Salisbury Cathedral
Stonehenge at sunset
The sitting room on the first floor
The gallery bedroom has a kingsize double bed
The entrance into the Folly (left) and dining area, which is lit by two 'porthole' windows
The kitchen area has oak fitted units and an attractive pine dresser
The kitchen area has oak fitted units and an attractive pine dresser
The dining area and stairs up to the first floor
The painted wooden stairs from the ground floor
The sitting room on the first floor
The stylishly furnished sitting room has attractive sash windows with internal shutters
Enjoy the inspirational views while you sit at the antique writing table
Three sash windows fill the sitting room with light
A spiral staircase leads up to the gallery bedroom on the top floor
Looking down from the gallery above
The gallery bedroom has a kingsize double bed
The sumptuous, kingsize double bed
Twin doors lead into the en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mere, Llanes, Asturias

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
1992Aliso...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Perfect weekend of peace, tranquility and relaxation. A place to get away from it all. Clare and Colin the owners are so welcoming , warm and friendly. Lots of great walks and lovely pubs that welcome dogs. We really enjoyed our stay at Castlebridge Folly. The Folly has been restored to the highest specification, it's warm and cosy . Would love to return in summer to take advantage of it's beautiful garden and pond. Plenty of places to sit out and take in the landscape and soak up the suns rays. Perfect for relaxation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Small cereal bowls - everything else was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
undertone...
Kent, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delighful”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Delightful. We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and this was the cleanest! Well-equipped and comfortable – small bathroom though. Owners friendly and unobtrusive. Thanks for the home produce! Loved the preseves. Great sculptures in the garden - beats a garden gnome. Tesco delivery of food ordered for arrival so cooked and eat in. Walks on doorstep (hey, people of Wiltshire, what is it with this fly tipping? Never seen as much) and car needed to visit anything beginning with “S” – Stonehenge, Shaftesbury (indoor market interesting) and Salisbury (Cathedral a must).

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurabrow...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Folly has a wow factor.”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for a short break. The Folly was easy to find, following the instructions given. Clare and Colin were very welcoming, they kindly supplied us with some provision such as bacon, eggs, milk, bread, butter, fresh fruit and some delicious homemade jam. The grounds the Folly is set in are beautiful (as is the main house gardens), there is parking for the car and then you go up some steps and along a path, past the pond to the house. It is a stunning building, with patio seating supplied to sit and admire the garden. The door opens into the kitchen, which has everything you need. The stairs lead up to the lounge, with some very comfortable seating, a log burner, writing desk and some lovely art work. Here there are three windows that look over the garden and beyond to the fields and Mere in the distance. There is a spiral staircase that takes you up to the bedroom and bathroom, both tastefully decorated. The bed is very comfortable, but we found the bathroom a tad on the narrow side, the shower is good to. We had a lovely stay here, it was so peaceful, to sit and read and listen to the sheep, birds and the sound of the wind in the trees, would highly recommend The Folly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet along with the beautiful gardens.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at The Folly at Castlebridge. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in this lovely area (particularly the views and the peace and tranquility that The Folly has to offer). It is also great to hear that you were so well looked after by the owners. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldunnin...
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Fantastic Folly”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The Folly is a fantastic place for a peaceful escape from everything.
It is set in a beautiful peaceful location but close to many fantastic places to visit such as Stourhead which, is only a short drive away and Stonehenge just over 30 minutes away. The Folly has everything you need, but if there is anything extra required the wonderful hosts are close at hand.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at The Folly at Castlebridge. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by the owners. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneCox20...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tiny cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Folly is a lovely small getaway in beautiful countryside. Everywhere looked great with autumn colours doing their best. Very comfortable accommodation, with excellent welcome pack and well equipped cottage. Lots of dry wood supplied for the log burner. Good choice of books to browse through. Lots of places to visit nearby, including Stourhead and Bath, but lovely to come back to our temporary "home" to relax in the evenings. We would stay here again at any opportunity whatever the weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, homely feel to the cottage
Liked least: Rain!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2015
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at The Folly at Castlebridge. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your time exploring this beautiful area and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn S
Dunster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic tranquility”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The Folly was everything which was promised and even more. Beautifully and stylishly furnished with generous welcome goodies and toiletries.
On a cold wet day it was warm and welcoming, a perfect get away location.
No need to rush around, as the sun came out, walking in the grounds, kicking up the autumn leaves and finding shiny new conkers bursting from their spiny cases was delightful.
A bottle or two from Yapps winery in Mere was an additional bonus.
We can recommend eating at the Bell and Crown in Zeals.
We will definitely return to this secret, exclusive hideaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of decor, furnishings and exclusitivity
Liked least: Hit and miss wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay back in October. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Folly at Castlebridge in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie W
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon!”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked this place very last minute for a 3 night stay as a short honeymoon. We wanted somewhere very quiet and relaxing to unwind after the stresses of organising our wedding. Well this place was everything we could have hoped for. Set far back from the road, surrounded by rolling hills and a beautiful pond with a waterfall. The manager had left us some champagne and smoked salmon on arrival and the fridge was stocked with breakfast items for the next day including the most wonderful homemade jams and marmalede. I liked the marrow and ginger jam so much I asked to have another jar to take home with me. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything we could need and the information packs are really useful. To be honest we needn't have brought anything but clothes with us because everything you need is there at the folly. If you need any food there is a short drive to mere where there's a co op and pubs, restaurants, cafés and takeaways. I would recommend a 20 min drive to Shaftesbury, we found a lovely artisan cheese shop there, a good bakers and a proper butcher as well as loads of shops and restaurants. It's a great location for sightseeing as it's within an hour of cheddar gorge or Stonehenge or Bath. I would recommend this to any couple looking for a romantic getaway. So beautiful, the photos don't do it justice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded and fully catered for
Liked least: Can't fault it.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing