We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Folly de grandeur”
The Folly at Castlebridge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Folly at Castlebridge
The grounds below the Folly The Folly at Castlebridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Folly at Castlebridge
The grounds below the Folly
The Folly at Castlebridge
The view across fields towards Mere
Stourhead Gardens, Wiltshire
Bath, Royal Crescent
Salisbury Cathedral
Stonehenge at sunset
The sitting room on the first floor
The gallery bedroom has a kingsize double bed
The entrance into the Folly (left) and dining area, which is lit by two 'porthole' windows
The kitchen area has oak fitted units and an attractive pine dresser
The kitchen area has oak fitted units and an attractive pine dresser
The dining area and stairs up to the first floor
The painted wooden stairs from the ground floor
The sitting room on the first floor
The stylishly furnished sitting room has attractive sash windows with internal shutters
Enjoy the inspirational views while you sit at the antique writing table
Three sash windows fill the sitting room with light
A spiral staircase leads up to the gallery bedroom on the top floor
Looking down from the gallery above
The gallery bedroom has a kingsize double bed
The sumptuous, kingsize double bed
Twin doors lead into the en suite shower room
The en suite shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mere, Llanes, Asturias

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jeffriesm...
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Folly de grandeur”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a wonderfully relaxing time at this very stylish and comfortable property with enchanting gardens.
The Folly was great fun and the local villages and countryside around it as good as anywhere we have been in England.
A well equipped kitchen and charming hosts added to our enjoyment and we hope to return soon.
Thoroughly recommended.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel F
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We found The Folly very comfortable and well equipped and with the best welcome pack we've ever had. The owner,who lives nearby, is very friendly and helpful but not intrusive and has gone to a lot of trouble to make The Folly the perfect place to stay. It is ideally located for visiting nearby places of interest such as Bath, Wells,Glastonbury and the many stately homes in the area.
Highly recommended

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
Thank you for your positive and useful feed-back about The Folly and the many interesting visitor attractions in the area. We're glad that you found it such a perfect place to stay and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harriet c
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still talking about the Folly one month on....”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This place is a total home from home. We felt very privileged to stay here for a week over Christmas. The owners went out of their way to welcome us and to give us any help that we needed. It is unique, beautifully decorated, is very well stocked, and totally peaceful. If you are lucky enough to find this Folly available, I'd recommend you to grab it with both hands!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very unique and beautiful place to stay
Liked least: It doesn't have a bath, but we knew that before.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
Your feed-back about The Folly at Castlebridge is much appreciated and this will be very helpful for prospective visitors. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay over Christmas and on behalf of the owners, hope to welcome you back there again soon. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinthew...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Folly for a week - I only wish it could have been longer! A great deal of time and effort has gone into the accomodation, which is first class. The surroundings were beautiful - I only wish my gardens were as well kept. Nothing was too much for the owners, who were always on hand to offer advice on restaurants and places to visit. We will definitely be back,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property itself + gardens
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Thank you for very positive comments about The Folly at Castlebridge. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at this accommodation. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing