We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Three Horseshoes Inn
Nearby Hotels
George Albert Hotel and Spa(Evershot)(Great Value!)
$98
$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summer Lodge(Evershot)
$370
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Greyhound Inn(Dorchester)
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Helyar Arms(East Coker)
$67
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Half Moon Inn(Sherborne)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
79
23
8
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
23
8
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe publittle gemprawnsexcellent rangepork pieeton messfriendly welcomepretty villagegreat atmosphereat lunchtimelocal areabrilliant foodoverlooked the courtyardcomfortable bedmy partnerfrittersthe vine
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 119 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Warm and friendly staff who will make you very welcome!!!!
I have stayed here a few times and never been disappointed ! The room was great clean and everything you need. Lovely breakfast .
The is nothing close by but you have everything you need.
Good food and a warm and friendly bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlsouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've been here for dinner a couple of times when visiting the area over the last couple of years and this time returned to stay for a night. Beautiful walks straight from the pub, tranquil location, lovely garden, the food consistently excellent and generous, and the room was delightful. Extremely high quality and standard all round. A few pubs/accommodation achieve such standards, but very few manage it with the level of service, warm welcome and hospitable atmosphere that keeps one returning. We'll certainly be back...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I found this place in the good pub guide and it was perfectly positioned between ourselves and friends we were meeting for lunch
The setting and pub were lovely, very attentive staff and food was very good
The one thing which really let such a beautiful place down was the toilets, very smelly, wooden toilet seats which weren't hygenic and very dirty on the floor and tiles. They really need to be refurbished

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40somethingWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsehoesbatcombe, Owner at The Three Horseshoes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for the great review. It always makes the hard work we do worth it. I agree that the toilets need a refurb, this is on the top of our list. Funds are tight in this current economic environment but we try hard every morning to make sure the toilets are spotless. Again thank you for the praise
Cheers - Kav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, friendly bar staff, excellent choice of ales and ciders, and best of all was the food. Broccoli and stilton soup had so much flavour, my Westcombe cheddar burger was very impressive, and the eton mess was the best i have ever had. Our new little gem of a pub. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I first dined at the Three Horseshoes last year in summer. A friend had an injury and the staff behind the bar were so helpful, bringing ice etc.
We stayed and had dinner and the food was fantastic.
So on returning this year, the experience was the same. Great hospitality, very good country food and excellent service.
I had an aged sirloin and thick cut chips on Saturday night. The landlord very kindly gave me a lift up the hill in his car afterward. I returned on Sunday for a roast beef and sat in their glorious beer garden soaking up the ambiance.
Its not hard to get a country pub formula right yet so many miss the mark.
The Three Horseshoes has got it bang on. Try the pork pies on the counter.
In the words of Arnold Schwarzenegger.... I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemstoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews