We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Epsom Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Epsom Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Grubby and dirty. Visible stains on walls, cobwebs. Mould on curtains. Stains on bedding. Rank smell in the bathroom. Missing lightbulbs. Hand rail in bathroom half hanging off wall. Hairs in bottom of the shower. Outside smoke butts everywhere. Outside overgrown and dying gardens. This would have to be the worst place I have ever stayed in. And to top it off a cockroach was crawling along the wall in the morning.
Seriously Epsom Motor Inn, read these reviews and clean up your act. I really regret not reading these reviews before hand as it seems we were not the only ones with a terrible experience here.
Had we not arrived so late in day and tired from a 8 hour drive, I would have demanded my money back and left. Thank goodness it was only for one night. Stay at your own risk

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krysamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    14
    16
    36
See reviews for
22
25
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was looking for cheap two night accommodation, and found it, but should have checked Trip Advisor first! The whole complex is a mess and in urgent need of maintenance and a good tidy up. The unit could only be described as basic, in that it provided an uncomfortable bed, and an old TV with a choice of only three channels. This was a studio unit with accommodation for three, but crockery/cutlery for only two. The net curtains were black with mildew and had holes in them. The bathroom hand basin was missing the plug, and the shower surrounds were very dirty, as was the floor. Outside at the back entrance the ground was covered with leaves and dead weeds, and at the from entrance there was a container full of cigarette butts. And to top it off, the room was serviced (unannounced and very quickly) while we were still in the unit. Shame, as this is a great location, but appears to be very poorly run.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you are desperate for a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Remuera hotels

Nadi
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed there for one night before returning to Fiji - we are thankful it was no longer. Outside the unit door it was littered with cigarette ends and empty packets. The room stunk of stale smoke, curtains were hanging off the rail, and in general room not very clean. Many light bulbs removed presumably to save power (haven't these people heard of 'energy savers' ?) It was very hard to see anything in the evening when curtains pulled.It was cold so heat pump was needed - like having a diesel tractor running outside the door all night !

The grounds were in a pitiful state with weeds growing through all the pavers.

Definitely a place to be avoided.

Room Tip: Best advice would be to stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Trevor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanageri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

have just stayed in this Motel for 2 nights and wouldn't want to stay any longer. All window in the room and bathroom had black mould around them, including the front door, as well as a lot of black mould in the corner of the studio near the air conditioner. The bed cover for the Queen bed had stains all over it, I would hate to think what was on it. When I arrived I went to the reception and they informed me that they had changed my credit card... Was not impressed with this as I was going to pay cash and the web site says that you don't pay UNTIL ON SITE. At 8.30am when I went to check out, the woman had just arrived although it says on the door open from 7.30am, lucky I didn't want to leave earlier, and then she just asked if I was checking out and took the key from me, No politeness in her manner. All in all wouldn't recommend this place to stay, the only reason I have given it a 2 is because the sheets had been washed and it was a handy location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nicely situated 2 km south of Newmarket and in close proximity to the Market Street and Greenlane motorway exits. Check in was friendly and at $80 per night through Wotif it seemed like good value but you pay for what you get. The unit was a good sized studio looking out onto a central courtyard. The inside of the windows were a bit grubby and there were no net curtains and therefore not much privacy - most of the time we had the curtains closed which wasn't ideal as the lighting was a bit dim. Cleanliness was lacking - there were cobwebs on the exterior of the building and the switch for the outside light was dirty. Inside there were stains on the bedspread and dirt build-up in nooks and crannies once one began to look closely. The TV was a small dated tube model but did have Sky. There is a microwave but the only place to wash dishes was in the bathroom sink. It got cold during our stay and the heat-pump was welcome. Car parking at the door. The weather was awful throughout our 3 days with torrential rain - the water didn't drain away well so when you walked on the paving slabs in the car park there was a squishing sound. The grounds were somewhat overgrown. This motel is overdue for having some money spent on it and just some basic care in daily cleaning and maintenance.

Room Tip: Great South Road is very busy during peak hour so try to time your arrival/ departure outside these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_M255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'll start with the positives - the staff were very friendly. Not a bad price for the location.

But the unit was very unclean. The shower was tiny and impossible to find a bearable temperature. I suspect the woman and man in the room next door was a working girl and her client. Bad smell of stale smoke throughout the unit. Signs about security and extra bolts on the doors didn't make me feel secure. Finding the empty condom wrapper (not ours) under the bed was the "icing".

Summary: If you're want somewhere reasonable central and don't want to pay any more than you have to then this place might do for you. I wouldn't recommend it at all if you are traveling with children or value a hot (but not scalding) shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Friendly reception upon arrival. Room needed urgent attention...carpet replaced, net curtains replaced, bed covers and mattress covers replaced-due to stains, fridge fixed or replaced-food was frozen, perhaps screen the rubbish bins or move them, hire a gardener..... friendly suggestions...we were able to cope with this during our stay because we went out during the day and ate out - short driving distances to Newmarket, CBD etc, handy to supermarket and petrol station. The price was the initial attraction, so this motel served it's purpose for the price paid. Would pay extra elsewhere in the future. This is definitely a last resort. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remuera
2.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.6 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#3 of 5 in Remuera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epsom Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epsom Motor Inn

Property: Epsom Motor Inn
Address: 115 Great South Road, Remuera 1051, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Remuera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Epsom Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epsom Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Epsom Motor Inn Auckland/Remuera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing