We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
21
33
30
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
33
30
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old house a lovely stay short stay ten minutes down the road new zealand within easy walking distance many years living room little gem front door net curtains auckland flats zambezi cbd piano
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 103 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018

This is my first review of a hotel. Ever. I am easy going about stuff like this. But this hotel is awful.

We stayed on a warm night and were bummed to find out they did not have AC. But ok, we thought, they'll have a fan. Uh, no. No fan. No circulation. At all.

People in the hotel were sleeping with their doors open to try to get some air! We could hear people snoring away because half the doors were ajar.

What's worse, the service was not good. No one to help with issues and they were fairly rude about my complaints. They certainly wouldn't offer a refund of any sort.

I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

I stayed in the Tuscany Room for a week and loved it. The breakfasts were gourmet quality and very reasonably priced. My daughter had Eggs Benedict with salmon and I had a toasted egg, cheese and bacon sandwich - delicious. The dining area overlooks a gorgeous garden with beautiful flowers and a fish pond. There's a quiet, peaceful easy-going atmosphere. The room was large and beautiful with a huge bay window, comfortable cozy bed, great shower in the ensuite bath, and every morning I woke up to birds singing their unique New Zealand tunes. The staff were kind and helpful and welcoming. I will continue to recommend this magical hotel to anyone heading to Auckland.

Room tip: Try the Tuscany Suite - main floor.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

We stayed here at the beginning of March 2018. Each room is different and has an exotic name. Ours was called Egypt. Although small, the room we had was well equipped & quirky. However, if you have a lot of luggage as we did, you tend to step over it in various parts of the room. The hotel is not central but there are a few restaurants nearby within easy walking distance. The Uber rate into the city centre is not too high.

Room tip: Ask for a large room if you need space for your suitcases
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and could not wait to leave. The bed was so hard like sleeping on the floor, there was blood left on the sheets from the previous people! The blinds kept getting stuck so I couldn't close them properly. The walls are so thin you can hear everything from the people in the next room. The front desk people were not friendly at all. A horrible experience.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jasminew594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDevereux R, Manager at The Devereux Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Unfortunately, we couldn't find your name or any relevant details in our booking system. You are welcome to contact us directly about your comment if you didn't want others know who you are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Old smelly pillows with no clean covers on them. Really dust and musty topped off with what looks like carpet bugs. Some very old furnishing with extremely thin wall that you can hear your nabours phone wringing.

Lovely staff even gave us a refund so we didn't have to stay another night.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank EmmaW4288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDevereux R, Manager at The Devereux Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

The Devereux Hotel is originally established in 1890 and we decorated it with old-fashioned and classic furniture. However, it does not represent that we will lower our sanitary standard. Every single pillowcase is changed and disinfected daily to satisfy the requirement.

In addition, carpet bugs do not feed on the ​carpet (from Google). The broken spot on the carpet was caused by friction between the holder of the fridge and the carpet.

We will not force any guest to appreciate the long-standing Devereux and understand the story behind its furniture. That is the reason why we would like to process the refund for you. But your right to comment is always reserved

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews