We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

On a rainy day and fully booked out Auckland central this place is a gem and such good value. It is a step back in time with beautiful high-ceiling rooms and very welcoming service. There's also a very good oyster wine-bar down the road. It really is Remuera/Auckland central at its best. I commend the owners and the staff for their style and a truly warm welcome home after an extraordinary 8 weeks abroad. May NZ prosper for this, well and truly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norheim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
31
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Found the place on Wotif...was perfect for what I needed. A beautiful place to work from and make myself at home while going for a stack of meetings in Auckland. Aside from the fact that it's a stunning residence, it's easy to get into Auckland and a short walk to the cool little shops at Remuera. Rooms are simple and big. The staff/new owners were lovely. If you're after a pampered five star get away, its probably not for you but if your after something stylish, low key where you can feel at home, then I thought it was spot on. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you're after privacy then upstairs is probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The place is really peaceful.
Good to avoid the city busting noises and crowds.
Do not expect immediate attentions like 5 stars. I am ok
Because I like to be at home, like by ourselves.
No servants. But just talk to them and I get served.
Thank you Helen. You have been great.
cheers
Peter
c/o melissa

Room Tip: curtain at Cairo suite toilet need upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for four nights. It was terrible. After the first night we had and early start and arrived back at the hotel late in the evening only to find the bed not made or the bathroom cleaned. It seems that you have to put a sign out on the door to let them know you want the room tidied. The only shelf in the bathroom was over the basin. Unfortunately it was sloping forward and thus of little use. I told them at reception so they removed enitrely instead of fixing it. Now there was nowhere to put a toilet bag. Speaking of toilets, the shower box is so close to the toilet that the door bangs into the toilet whenever you try to get in or out. The gap is rather small so beware. It would have been nice if there had been toiletries too!

If you want internet then be prepared to have a hit and miss connection. It depends on how many people are using the internet at any time. We were not lucky.

Perhaps the worst was that the management team had a very poor command of the English language, even to the point where one of them spoke no English at all. This became very troublesome when I was expecting a telephone call from overseas and the receptionist refused to answer the phone despite my assurances that the call was probably for me. She simply pointed to a line on a piece of paper which read "No Vacancies".

By the way, there are no meals available but the management team obviously live on the premises so the smell of asian cooking permeates the hotel.

What a real shame especially since the old building is beautiful and the location great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinchasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Remuera hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was once an outstanding Hotel where we felt proud to have overseas guest stay, I will not stay here again until it is under new management or purchased by people who know how to run a New Zealand heritage hotel. Please do have visitors who are not NZer's stay here, this is not a typical New Zealand boutique Hotel. You are being miss lead.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunce-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This would have been a very grand house in its day! Set up now as a hotel, our room had it's own en-suite, a queen bed and a single, a table and several chairs. TV and tea-making facilities including a bar fridge (no mini-bar) made up the room.

The room is not huge but certainly adequate and the bathroom was spotless. Daily room service was thorough.

There is a large lounge area downstairs, and a sheltered verandah. The lounge has a library (which we discovered too late in our stay to check out very thoroughly). The staff are wonderful - as others have said the English of a few may be lacking but the heart is there and they were truly open-hearted, helpful and friendly.

Parking is the only issue we had - there are enough parking spots but they are best fit for smaller cars. Having said that, we still got the rental car into a spot each evening. The hotel is very central, being quite close to Newmarket and the CBD, and down to Mission Bay and the waterfront. We had a blast catching up with people in the area.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Devereux or to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrWhoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way north. The house is lovely and the rooms beautifully furnished. Bathroom somewhat tiny compared with the bedroom though. Went to bed about 11pm only to be woken up a 3.45am with talking through the walls. Wherever the the people were, I could hear their conversation word for word so had to thump on the walls for them to desist. This is the problem with old wooden houses split into flats or studio units.

Otherwise, the service was just great.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms would definitely be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadeWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remuera
2.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
2.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devereux Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devereux Boutique Hotel

Property: The Devereux Boutique Hotel
Address: 267 Remuera Road, Remuera 1050, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Remuera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devereux Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Devereux Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devereux Boutique Hotel Auckland/Remuera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing