We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Mae Salong Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mae Salong Villa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mae Salong
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were 4 friends traveling together. The best part of our stay was the excellent food from the restaurant. Classic Chinese dishes expertly cooked with original ingredients. Absolutely delicious. The adjoining rooms we chose were very comfortable and the view from the balcony wonderful. The hotels is family owned and the staff mainly Burmese were sweet and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yumidesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
There are newer reviews for Mae Salong Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 30 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

In October 2009, we took a mountain bike tour from Chaing Mai to Golden Triangle Thailand and stayed in 7 different hotels along the way.


Mae Salong has heavy influence from China because much of he recent settlers moved south from China at time of Mao Cultural Revolution. As a result the décor and accommodation standards are more indicative of China than Thailand. What this means is that there is a diversity to the architecture not usually seen in North Thailand. What this also means is that the hotels are bare bones and of lower quality and upkeep.

We were shown to our villa on the hillside, which was represented as “nice”. Here’s what we found: The main entry door didn’t really close, it needs re-aligning. Most of wall mounted bathroom fixtures were falling off the tile wall. The sink vanity had sloppy and poorly fitted tile surface including places where the poorly cleaned and maintained caulking was an inch thick. The slider closet door was hopelessly off its track. The coat hangers were the simple wire kind and had been bent into all sorts of shapes. Half the lighting was bare compact florescent light bulbs. Interior doors were plastic. There was only one extra plug and wires were run on outsides of walls. The water heater had instructions only in Thai. The gas feed to the water heater was in low pressure water hose. The sink had only cold water, no hot water. There were holes in the window screens. There was substantial mildew on the bathroom tiles. The fan – necessary to circulate air – made too much noise to use effectively. Getting to our villa involved navigating a slimy and smelly walkway, hopping over pcb pipe traversing the walkway, and navigating several sets of steps with an occasional riser that was an inch taller or shorter than the others. Hopefully the reader gets the picture.

Otherwise the room had a king sized bed, tile floor, and modest furnishings. The bed was very hard [as is the custom in China but not in Thailand] and we did not get a very good night’s sleep. There is no air conditioning, no internet, and we didn’t hear any English.

The bottom floor of the main building is dedicated to convenience stores and a hotel reception area without a single piece of furniture. The 2nd floor of the main building is a large restaurant where they serve mostly Chinese fare. We ordered a beer and wine with our dinner and paid about twice what we were paying in other countryside establishments.

Mae Salong has pretty white & gold temples and impressive stupas. The town center has nice tea shops, but otherwise the trinket stalls sell junky landfill destined souvenirs. Our hotel was reported to be one of the nicer places in town. So if are touring the north of Thailand, you may perhaps elect to stay overnight elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: เลือกห้องพักข้างบนที่อยู่ที่เนินเขา
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karn_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alektebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Flup R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Salong
0.0 mi away
Khum Nai Phol
Khum Nai Phol
#1 of 2 in Mae Fa Luang
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akha Mud House Mae Salong
Akha Mud House Mae Salong
#2 of 6 in Mae Salong
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
MyPlace Mae Salong
MyPlace Mae Salong
#3 of 5 in Mae Salong
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan Ruam Cha
Baan Ruam Cha
#4 of 6 in Mae Salong
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hongfu Boutique Resort
Hongfu Boutique Resort
#2 of 5 in Mae Salong
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wang Put Tan Boutique Hotel
Wang Put Tan Boutique Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mae Fa Luang
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mae Salong Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mae Salong Villa

Address: 5 Moo 1 Tambon Maesalong Nok | Amphoe Mae Fah Luang, Mae Salong 57240, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Mae Salong
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mae Salong
Price Range: $32 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mae Salong Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mae Salong Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing