We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Silk Restaurant

Thai Silk Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 83 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hadn't visited Thai Silk for years, but shan't be leaving it so long this time. Lovely food and friendly, welcoming staff. Portions are big without being overwhelming. The only down side being that we were never offered the dessert menu. By the time we thought to ask, we had to leave. Will have to have 2 desserts next time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Herds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hawkesbay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Arai Dee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Authentic Thai at reasonable prices, the new fit out is wonderful, great to sit sipping a beer Singha whilst you wait for your table and or your take out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBandGimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best fried rice ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Cannot get enough of your Thai silk fried rice, would highly recommend it yummo! Have heard only good things about you guys.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank turnbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Authentic Thai food with brilliant service. We are regulars and are treated very well for our loyalty. Plus we always tip... because the whole experience is worth it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mutesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North
Level Contributor
144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hot and Spicy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This restaurant has been a favourite ever since I moved to live in Hawkes Bay four years ago. It has been renovated since my last visit and I was impressed with the new layout and bar.

Four of us were dining and we started with a mixed entree of 10 starters from the entree items - Thai spring rolls,wontons, curry puff, and golden bags with dipping sauce.

Rice is served with the mains and we found three main courses were easily sufficient. We ordered Gaeng Panang , a slightly sweet curry with peanut, vegetables and coconut cream, Crispy Pork Curry in red curry with vegetables served on a hot plate and Pla Choo Chee - fried fish fillets with mushrooms and vegetables.

The strength of each dish is indicated by a chilli. We picked one and two chillies and enjoyed the heat level.

Desserts looked inviting and interesting - Panang Creme Brulee, Tapioca ,Lychees, deepfried coconut banana and of course a selection of Rush Munro's famous Hawkes Bay icecreams.

You are able to bring your own wine or purchase from the bar.

Service has always been very attentive and friendly. This meal cost us $22.00 per head which is excellent value for such an enjoyable meal and evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ausgezeichnet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Silk Restaurant also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Silk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing