We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and food”

Thai Silk Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 86 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Authentic Thai food with brilliant service. We are regulars and are treated very well for our loyalty. Plus we always tip... because the whole experience is worth it

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mutesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North
Level Contributor
149 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hot and Spicy”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This restaurant has been a favourite ever since I moved to live in Hawkes Bay four years ago. It has been renovated since my last visit and I was impressed with the new layout and bar.

Four of us were dining and we started with a mixed entree of 10 starters from the entree items - Thai spring rolls,wontons, curry puff, and golden bags with dipping sauce.

Rice is served with the mains and we found three main courses were easily sufficient. We ordered Gaeng Panang , a slightly sweet curry with peanut, vegetables and coconut cream, Crispy Pork Curry in red curry with vegetables served on a hot plate and Pla Choo Chee - fried fish fillets with mushrooms and vegetables.

The strength of each dish is indicated by a chilli. We picked one and two chillies and enjoyed the heat level.

Desserts looked inviting and interesting - Panang Creme Brulee, Tapioca ,Lychees, deepfried coconut banana and of course a selection of Rush Munro's famous Hawkes Bay icecreams.

You are able to bring your own wine or purchase from the bar.

Service has always been very attentive and friendly. This meal cost us $22.00 per head which is excellent value for such an enjoyable meal and evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ausgezeichnet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Larb”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Best Chicken Larb Salad we've tasted in years. Would order it again and again.

Was surprised meals did not come with rice so was lucky I ordered an "extra" rice that turned out to be our only rice.

It was a delight to here the cashier wishing every client a Happy New Year. The only time I witnessed service with a smile in Hawkes Bay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZLNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
730 reviews
459 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Friendly popular local hangout with decent grub”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had the banquet which allegedly was the 'best selling' & we naturally thought 'house specialties'. Starters were a touch oily fried springrolls and dumplings and a peanut skewered meat. Dipping sauce was delicious & best of the bunch. Mains were similar tasting & very mild served with a shared big bucket of clumpy rice. Generous portions. Dessert of fried banana well received at our table.
Heavy on the FRIED stuff for my taste, but decent tucker. Service is spotty, H20 not replaced, BYO wine a bonus for $6 a bottle. Average westernized 'Thai style' food in comfortable surrounds. They are certainly popular! The takeaway biz was brisk.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Real Thau Cusine in Napier!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great food (approved Royal Thai Cuisine), great ambiance - very authentic - fantastic, friendly service and unbelievable value-for-money. Need I say more?!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 255069GeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Silk Restaurant also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Silk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing