We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice setting and pleasant drive out”
Review of Clifton Cafe

Clifton Cafe
Ranked #61 of 87 Restaurants in Hastings
Price range: $7 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice setting and pleasant drive out”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

good food, surroundings a bit basic and not too comfortable but worth a visit if you are in the Bay.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanner23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    56
    32
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bike Over For Lunch”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Parked our car up at Clive and biked our way to Clifton.
Rewarded with a relaxing lunch at Clifton Bay Cafe & Bar.
Indoor & outdoor seating options available.
Sufficient car parking & bike racks provided.
Opposite the beach, with stunning views of Cape Kidnappers.
Chicken and beef burgers for lunch, with the obligatory Tui.
Fresh produce, great flavours & prompt service.
Good selection from the menu including morning tea, cakes, pastas & salads.
Very reasonably priced experience in a lovely relaxing environment.
Quite a few larger groups arrived during our stay, so must be a popular place to visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi, thanks for the review, we beleive it is a good destination/turn around point for a cycle trip. Cyclists are a growing target market and we aim to offer a good range of food/beverage. We also beleive we have one of the best spots in Hawkes Bay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service needs some work”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

love the food and view, but having to stand in a queue to order your meals is time consuming and frustrating. If they could fix this and have table service, it would be even better

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Moys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capesue, Owner at Clifton Cafe, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback Moys G, we are pleased that you loved the food and the view. I am sorry that you had to queue however as we are a very busy cafe not a restaurant we are not in a position to offer table service. We do aim to keep the queing time to a minimum.

Thanks and regards
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beachside Kai”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Winter or Summer a place to chill out
- check times before heading out
Walking the beach to Cape Kidnappers the Cafe is a must stop
Big tables cater for big groups & Space for quiet couples
Views abound

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaqi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
750 reviews
472 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Wonderful location & friendly service”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Lovely day spent at the beach with views to Cliffs of Cape Kidnappers & Napier City from the Clifton Cafe. Burger menu enjoyed outdoors under the trees with a sea breeze. Food is average at slightly higher than average price but overall a pleasant experience and would recommend

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clifton Cafe also viewed

Te Awanga, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Clifton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing