We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we would stay here again.....”
Review of Valdez Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Valdez Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“we would stay here again.....”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed one night here, in a studio with it's own private courtyard. The studio was spacious, clean, updated and quiet. The grounds are huge so the units are set back from the busy road.
The gardens are well cared for and there is decent sized swimming pool. But, best of all the owners were extremely friendly and lovely to deal with. The price paid was reasonable.
This will be our first choice on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
30
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Well maintained and equipped, comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Affordable base for seeing sights of Napier and Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at this motor lodge twice - the first time in Dec 2006, over Xmas, we had come to them from a really grungy motel. The Valdez didn't have a spare room that night so set us up in the conference room for the first night! Excellent! The second night we had a nice unit with spa bath for a reasonable price. We came back this year.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KermitWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Valdez with our young baby for a weekend. It was rather busy with a large concert in town and the motel was fully booked. The owners were wonderful. Although they seemed to be rushed off their feet, nothing was too much trouble. Travelling with a baby required a large amount of luggage and we were relieved to know that they had a port-a-cot that we could borrow - one less thing to pack! The cot was almost new and very clean. Our room (a studio) was large compared to others we have stayed in. It was really clean and the spa bath was blissful. Although it was a busy weekend, our hosts had managed to put us in a unit that was really quiet although I think they are all pretty quiet. There was no road noise and we barely had any noise from other guests. On the couple of occasions that inconsiderate guests parked in our spot, there was plenty of space at the top of the complex. Our hosts had great local knowledge and helped us choose a restaurant and they booked a table for us! They suggested a couple of vineyards that we should visit on the Saturday which were great and had lovely cafes.
We really enjoyed our weekend in the Bay and have already booked another weekend at this lovely hotel. Judy and Warwick, you were fabulous and we can’t wait to be back. Thanks for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PukekoheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We checked in to this motel with the welcome of 'Check out is at 10am, not a minute later' - wasn't sure this was the best start to the hotel or our weekend away. We were then told quite curtly that we couldn't park two cars in front of the unit despite us having no intention of doing so.
We asked the managers if they would mind booking a taxi for us for dinner later that night but were told that we could 'do that ourselves and the 0800 number was on the phone in the unit'. When I tried to call, the number gave a disconnected tone so we dialled the local number instead.
Each time we went back to the reception for maps or information, we felt like we were interrupting and had chosen the wrong places to eat/visit etc.
The unit itself was fine - spacious enough for a group and fitted out well with all the utensils that you need.
Our bathroom door didn't close, even with the lock on the door, and the shower ran boiling hot then freezing cold the whole time we were there.
When we went to check out, we were then charged 50c for the phone call to call the taxi!! I didn't mind paying that but we explained that the 0800 number written on the phone in the unit only gave a disconnect tone and were told that the taxi company turned 'off' their 0800 number late in the day!? We had called at 3pm!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWizMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

This was great value for money! The rooms itself was a standard room but there was plenty of space and it was very clean. What really impressed me was the manager's offer to drive us to the wedding we were in town for! We surmised from the map that it wasn't that far, and were going to walk, but the manager offered to drive us there and so we gratefully accepted. How many hotel managers/owners would do that? Not many I'd say. What a lovely gesture, and what a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The manager/owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.6 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
54 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#8 of 18 in Hastings
24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cumberland Court Motel
Cumberland Court Motel
#10 of 18 in Hastings
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdez Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdez Motor Lodge

Property: Valdez Motor Lodge
Address: 1107 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valdez Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Valdez Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing