We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club Day”

Craggy Range Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$212.41*
and up
Private Tour: Napier Hawkes Bay Premium Wine Tour with Lunch
Ranked #3 of 39 things to do in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Club Day”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband & I were fortunate to have been invited to their Club Day in March. We both travelled from different corners of the world to be there & were so very glad we made the effort.

They put on a fabulous day, which we both thoroughly enjoyed. The weather was perfect (if not a little too warm). We sat on rugs around the lake enjoying the spectacular views of The Range, watching the ducks on the water. We sat on benches in the citrus grove watching the bees buzzing around. We dined at the picnic on the terrace, listening to the excited chatter of other guests. And we thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food & the most delightful wines. Such a shame you had sold out of the Riesling we'd been tasting.

It all ended too soon for us.

Thank you Craggy Range for a wonderful day. We look forward to receiving our delivery later in the year :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sproutie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    57
    26
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Craggy range restaurant- breathtaking view and food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a spectacular dinner at craggy range- food was impeccable. Entrees/starters/appetizers are very small and not intended for sharing. Main courses on the other hand are huge and definitely for sharing. The crayfish and abalone ravioli with sea urchin foam was...interesting. The roast pork with salad nicoise & crackling good for 2 was almost good for 3. The whole wood oven cooked fish was also very Simple and perfectly cooked- a nice healthy fish and chips...Beautiful setting. Great service. Book ahead.

Helpful?
1 Thank RaeannaManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Showcase”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

More like a showcase than a working vineyard.
A tour led by Graham - 'Wine Ambassador' at Craggy Range - was disappointing. Obviously a knowledgeable gentleman, but lacked enthusiam, we felt like he was doing us a favour showing us round.
We had booked for dinner but cancelled based on our experience during the tour.
The big boys would could learn something from the smaller wine producers.
Maybe it's the titles they have?!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ArnieMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A lovely way to spend an evening”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Craggy Range has an accompanying restaurant, as do many other New Zealand wineries. One should always book in advance for lunch or dinner. We were staying with family in the region - who love the place - so did not try for accommodation.

Wines and restaurant are both outstanding, even by the high standards of New Zealand. We arrived in time for tranquil sunset-over-the-mountain drinks before going inside for dinner. Parts of the vineyard lie beside the restaurant terrace, so that one looks over the orderly rows of vines to the river and the hills beyond. It makes a fitting start to the evening.

The restaurant is a large, not too noisy room with a big open fire. Our table was near the windows, so that we continued to enjoy the views until darkness fell.

The food at Craggy Range is excellent. It's a fact - though certainly not a criticism - that most New Zealand restaurants, whether or not attached to wineries, base their menus on ingredients usually sourced locally but available all over the country. Therefore one will almost always find the same basic range: fish: sea bass or snapper are often seen; shellfish, especially clams and scallops; beef and lamb, together with at least one vegetarian dish. Variety depends heavily on the chef. It was said in the Air Force that God sent the food and the devil sent the cooks. Fortunately, the Deity has supplied both cooks and food to Craggy Range. The style is 'modern French', I suppose, where sauces are used thoughtfully to bring out the fullest flavours from superb ingredients. The result is not quite 'haute cuisine' in the European sense, where sauce is often ladled on to mask inferior meat or fish - New Zealand has no need of that - but sophisticated, intelligent cooking that is a joy to eat.

We tried most of the menu between us, and it was all first-rate. Craggy Range offers its own wines as selected accompaniments to particular dishes, or from a long list. We followed their recommendations with much pleasure. Bordeaux (including first-growths) and Burgundy were also available, though at very high prices indeed. The service was excellent throughout: friendly without being too matey, and professional where it mattered.

If you are an experienced paraglider you can arrive by jumping off the nearby mountain. Otherwise, cars or bikes.

Thoroughly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TarquinJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would have been wonderful if it wasn't for the staff”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fabulous setting, wonderful wine. However the (American?/ South African?) chap who came to serve us in the tasting room was the epitome of what you do not want for front of house.
We were trying to purchase some wines we had tried the evening before at Craggy Ranges restaurant, Terroir (excellent restaurant - food and staff amazing!).
This employee spoke to us as though we a terrible nuisance to have in the place, then started serving another group who had come in for a tasting. At this point I refused to purchase anything because he was so rude. Eventually he signalled to companions to follow him so as to pay for the wines. He then walked into an office and slammed the door in their faces! They looked aghast and noticed a tour operator with a party of guests roll his eyes and gesticulate that the employee always behaved like this!
Altogether a horrific experience, which is a terrible shame given that everything else about Craggy Range is divine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craggy Range Winery also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Craggy Range Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing