We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic anniversary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ten Twenty Four Nz

Ten Twenty Four Nz
Ranked #31 of 84 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Fusion, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic anniversary treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 9th anniversary in this restaurant last year as we heard some good feedback from friends and read a lot of good reviews. Food was so amazingly well presented and delicious through to our lovely desert. I would say that everything was so perfectly good even to our Sangria. The environment and the service was great. The only thing that we were a little bit disappointed was when my two daughters and myself went back for the second time. We didn't really enjoy our meal as expected but the good point was the staff were so attentive and very nice. We'll keep coming back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Messmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went their for dinner with friends Saturday night. The food was great, extremely well presented. The wines were all well matched with the food. Great concept just sit down and enjoy the experience of eating what they serve.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewen_r_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had heard that this was a place to go for great food, and we were to be in Hastings one Friday evening, so booked for the dinner well ahead of time. It turns out that for some reason, we were the only patrons and were offered the opportunity to rebook another night, but with the assurance that they were happy to cook for us anyway. We went ahead with solo dining in a lovely space and enjoyed very personalised treatment.
The dinner degustation comes with a choice of 4, 5 or 6 courses and we had chosen the 4 course option for $75 each.
Our waiter was excellent, welcoming us and seating us, offering a drink to start and explaining a bit about how the evening would go.
...and then the food came! Wow - what a delightful evening we enjoyed. To start we loved the local fresh figs with Gorgonzola. Even my husband who is not a fan of blue cheese enjoyed it, it was beautifully presented and was delicious - even down to the crumbs on the plate so artfully scattered.
Next came a lovely fish course including a slipper lobster - again, yum!

We ended up getting 5 courses instead of 4, with matched wines. Thoughtfully we were offered half glasses which kept the cost and alcohol down to a reasonable level, but gave us the appropriate wine match.
The next course was steak, then a cheese course before dessert. Mmmmmmmm, sooo good, their take on one of my favourites, tiramisu.
Although we were the only ones there to start with, another group came in and were also raving about the food.
The kitchen is visible to diners and the chef worked calmly by himself - and the food was just fantastic. Each dish was explained to us when presented and we had fun trying to work out some of the interesting additions - the wasabi pearls and "sherbert" were amazing.
At the end we were presented with the chef's menu planner complete with hand drawn representation of the menu.
Location in a winery tasting room with outside courtyard was excellent and I can see that summer lunches would be especially enjoyed outside.
We will definitely try to return to experience the lunch one day!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The degustation menu was incredible, and as we indulged in this on day 1 of our holiday, it set our expectations very high for everywhere else we dined at. This was our favourite dining experience by far.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank j9p-v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just seems to get better every time we go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Well as an avid dinner out be it Auckland, Wellington, Queenstown, Hawkes Bay or all the awesome places we have eaten around the globe i have to applaud people that just have it so right.

We popped to 1024 off the cuff for lunch on a thursday and had an awesome lunch with a glass of wine, my choice of the pheasant livers for starter and Pork Belly for main was amazing and my wife was stoked too with her Squid starter and John Dory & king prawn curry.

So when it came to lunching with a good friend from Auckland this weekend it was a no brainer to head back to 1024...

Once again we were served an breath taking lunch, very inventive and always pushing the boundaries with flavours and plating... Again i want for the Pheasant livers, then Haupuka for main and marshmallow ravioli for desert.... breathtaking food :-)

To say my wife and friend was as happy with there dishes would be an understatement, our friend even said her dessert was one of the best she had ever had and she will definatley be back on her next visit to the bay...

Keep up the great work guys ......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ten Twenty Four Nz also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Ten Twenty Four Nz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing