We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful experience!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unwined Cafe

Unwined Cafe
Ranked #66 of 83 Restaurants in Hastings
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Family friendly Winery Cafe at the heart of the GIMBLETT GRAVELS wine district. Open for breakfast/brunch, lunch, dinner (Fri & Sat), platters, selection of home made cakes/slices, coffee/Tea. Winery tours available and bike hire. Free Wi-Fi. All freshly made from local produce, served with hand crafted wines from boutique winery Unison Vineyard
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dreadful experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited for lunch on queens birthday public holiday. Restaurant was quiet but it was nice to sit outside in the sun. Service was good and girls serving were friendly. The food on the other hand was terrible. A prawn cocktail came out raw and after an hour we had our mains. The fish pie was awful with a mash potato plonked on a fish soupy slop. The risotto was bland and inedible. Very disappointing and we left after a few mouthfuls!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    4
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A great little Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were on our way around a few of the wineries in the area and decided to drop into Unison and found this little coffee shop and had a great coffee and cakes the service was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, pretty basic food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Unwined is in a lovely setting, smack bang in the middle of a vineyard. The staff are friendly and welcoming and I wanted to like the place a lot more - unfortunately the food was a bit of a let down. It's basic cafe style tucker that doesn't really live up to the location. A little more flair and creativity applied to the menu, and they'd be on to a winner - there's a lot of competition for vineyard dining in Hawkes Bay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super delicious food with friendly service & beautiful place to stop for a break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful venue in a spot out of town. Friendly & professional staff. Delicious food & great value for money. Loved the ginger beer tasting. Lovely place to stop for a lunch break. Next time I would love to go for dinner & try the wine tasting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alfien01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast: Very Dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

My hubby and I cycled 22 Klms to have brekky in your resturant. The coffees were flat whites but after scraping off and inch of froth we finally found our coffee, I think, and they were luke warm, I returned them, the 2nd attemped was 2 degs warmer and a tad stronger...... BUT at least it filled in time while waiting for our brekky: 1. poached eggs on toast with bacon, the other, Eggs Benedict, which took an hour to arrive, was cold, hard and uninviting ...................... we could not wait to leave. You potentually have a great destination but our brunch experiance was rubbish and expensive. PS we were the only ones having breakfast. Jan and Dave 06 8733488

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unwined Cafe also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Unwined Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing