We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
12
17
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
17
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magpie tidy unit great value for money swimming pool hawkes bay bed motel bbq noise setting tv accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 35 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2017

Needing one night's accommodation in central Hastings, this one fitted the bill. From the website we were a bit worried about road-traffic noise but that was no problem. The room was fine, spacious and clean. Outside is a small, secluded pool that we didn't use. the owners are a delight and had time for a chat - and let us have some lovely oranges from the tree outside our room. Couldn't ask for more at that price, great vfm! Many thanks.

Room Tip: Ground floor, furthest from the road
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirundo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for your review, your so kind to mention all this. We are so glad you enjoyed your night away. Thank you for mentioning our cleaning standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile

Thank you very much for our 2 day stay. Lisa and Greg are amazing hosts and very friendly. We loved our stay and would have liked to stay longer. Our unit was spotless and comfortable. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Companion609629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and standards. Your welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

I only stayed for one night and I have no negative comments. A pocket friendly accommodation in a good central area. Unit was super clean and cosy and friendly staff who were delightful and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are very proud of our standards. Thank you so much for your opinion shared.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

A basic motel, no frills but cosy on a very cold July night with a thermostatically controlled electric heater. Spotlessly clean throughout and a comfortable bed. Although close to a main road traffic noise was not a problem and very good to be able to park in our own park at our front door. The free Wifi worked well at 10Mbps. Great value for money and we will stay there again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Thank you very much for your honest review, you are welcome anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2017 via mobile

We booked this unit with a second bedroom as we were 2 couples. The website was generally good to use but I couldn't work out how to book the other couple for only one night. That was well resolved when we arrived with a refund being put back into my account as soon as I booked in.
The unit was roomy, especially the second bedroom, but was only just what you would call clean. Then the electrical socket we plugged our multi board into to charge phones etc. caused the board to flash and kick out the overload but didn't trigger the circuit breaker in the room. This was a concern so we raised it and felt as if we were at fault rather than trying to ensure this didn't happen to others.
Overall a bit of a disappointing stay.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Campbell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Thank you for sharing your review. We are surprised at comments as when they told us about the flash, we acted immediately we got a electrician there within 30 minutes. Electrician checked sockets, timers, electric boards and electrician found the multi board to be faulty. We offered to replace multi board and customer did not feel that was warranted. We always make sure customers are safe, I felt they were insinuating we were at fault which is why we used an electrician so they had peace of mind. Thank you for mentioning the room and how it was roomy. Also thank you for mentioning how we worked out your internet error very fast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews