We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual or classy - you choose.”

Jarks Cityside Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Simple good quality food served with style and warm friendly hospitality and service
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Casual or classy - you choose.”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have visited several times and every time received great service and loved the food. Pop in for a snack and a cool drink, sit outside (or inside), lunch is great and you will fit in whether you go as a couple or lunch as a group with family and friends; or plan for a relaxing dinner. Haven't tried their special Friday evenings, although plan to do this soon. Highly recommend Jarks, whether you are at the beach or plan to drive out there for lunch/dinner - it is a relaxing, country drive. During the busy summer months it might pay to make a reservation as they are propular - and can be busy at the weekends. When making a reservation at short notice (for the same day) I have always found them accommodating if you can be a little flexible with arrival time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank servicecounts-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    46
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service & wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Got hungry after a few hours on waimarama beach sunning & swimming. Decided not to try and battle the masses at the local diary/chippie & go for a beer & a light bite. So glad we did. Service was excellent & friendly. We had the steak & bacon Sammie & the Thai crumbed squid - both dishes were perfectly flavoured & cooked (apparently the Squid has only recently been added for summer & I would highly recommend as you can choose 8 or 16 pieces of squid to suit your appetite. The day had been a hot one & the casual atmosphere & light breeze was perfect to sit & sip our beers & chat. There is options to sit under an umbrella out on the open lawn, sit inside or out on the veranda. There is even a little fenced area to let the kiddies play. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ihearttravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Good food and service. Was busy at time of visit but was well managed. Looked like they have a good range of mid week specials.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank verywilltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beach dining experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Enjoyed a very classy lunch with a welcoming place name on the table, two very charming waitressess and the food was fresh, interesting and of a top quality.
The only downside was being interrupted quite loudly as to how our meals were. Running a classy cafe/restaurant means friendly and classy greetings as well and not being referred to as townies when we have owned a farm for many years.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ordinarykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodforfun2013, Owner at Jarks Cityside Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback as well as the constructive criticism. We try hard not to interupt customers conversations and train our staff in the same manner to stand a moment and apologize if the need arises to interupt to check on drinks or meals so we are very sorry if you were not treated appropriately. Being called townies I really can't understand so again, my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lovely beach cafe”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Went to Jarks cafe out in Waimamrama, excellent motorbike ride there, lovely sweeping roads out in the countryside. We had rang up and booked and on our arrival had a piece of paper waiting for us on our table welcoming us, had our name on it, a great touch, made you feel like you were welcome.

It was overcast, so sat inside where it was lovely and ward, Jarks was clean and newish, owner and staff very friendly. Had beef open sandwich, was very nice as was the lamb pizza.

Will deffinitly go back, is the perfect drive and with summer coming up looking forward to sitting outside and having a nice meal and beer after a swim at the gorgeous beach which is close by

You must book at Jarks as it is alway full. Open Thurs to Sunday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jarks Cityside Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Jarks Cityside Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing