We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for quiet dinner”

Vidal Estate Winery Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Adjacent to the winery, Vidal Estate's restaurant has been a popular destination for locals and visitors since the opening of its doors in 1979. Open for lunch and dinner, the atmosphere is one of relaxed sophistication. A talented team in the kitchen share a food philosophy of fresh and simple dishes using really good produce. The focus is on creating clean simple flavours using New Zealand fresh, seasonal, organic products and taking inspiration from classical methods and dishes. Vidal Estate's comprehensive wine list, which showcases recent and aged Vidal Estate wines as well other top New Zealand wines, perfectly complements the dishes.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for quiet dinner”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place expected great things after I had read there review and was not disappointed staff had a great personal feel with great food just a bit of a wait on the food wine list was a bit expensive for being a winery itself but it must keep the drunks out great place will be back when we're back in nz

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skoutos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    85
    22
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
“Best in Hastings”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great services followed by great food and to top it off fantastic ambience. The wine selection is good all be it a bit pricey. But one mans pricey is another mans cheap so check out their web page.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DutcheeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

An excellent meal, Table of 6, and everything served together, friendly staff, great wines, and lovely ambiance. Pork Belly is amazing, as was the lamb. Great selection of cheeses, and the waitress went out of her way to track down where we could buy it from. Great use of local produce, and well worth the trip to Hastings, if you're staying in Napier.

Would absolutely eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, NM
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great meal, service reserved”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

When making our reservation for that evening we were told that a large party would be present and to come before. We did and enjoyed our meal despite the noise. All of our food was very good and the Vidal wine selections complemented well. Our service did not suffer but seemed a little reserved. I would recommend giving this place a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good - Needs Polish”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I enjoyed my visit with a group of friends. The menu is in-keeping with the venue and is pretty well executed. Very good without quite blowing me away. Staff were attentive but a little hesitant and a few examples of delivering to the wrong table. Some good training and feedback with them would help polish this.
Overall worth it and would return but there is room to make this really shine!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 246170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vidal Estate Winery Restaurant also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Vidal Estate Winery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing