We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favourite!”
Review of Rush Munro's

Rush Munro's
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We stopped at Rush Munro's for ice cream during a recent visit to Hawke's Bay area, great stop should be reviewed for TA visitors.
Restaurant details
Description: We stopped at Rush Munro's for ice cream during a recent visit to Hawke's Bay area, great stop should be reviewed for TA visitors.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a favourite!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

You can't go to Hastings during summer without having an ice cream from here, it's New Zealand famous and this is where it all started, great to take away or if you have a bit of spare time sit on the outside seating and watch the goldfish. Will always go back no matter what. The flavours are fresh and different to any other place which makes it that little more special for the regular locals and any visitors to the bay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    69
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Regular Treat”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

To treat yourself, you must have a "Rush Munro's" icecream when visiting Hawkes'Bay. Sorry I can't go past the Malted Milk no matter how I try, BUT the trick is to get the people you are with to chose another flavour and ask for a lick! Hasn't changed a bit, except the addition of new flavours and the gold fish are still a big attraction for the kids. I can remember when they used to sell twisted barley sugar kept in glass jars but that was a long time ago!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Taste Sensation(al)”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

No trip to Hastings is complete without a visit to rushi rose. I've been going since I was a kid but it's not just the nostalgia that keeps me coming back. Feijoa icecream, gin and lemon, maple walnut, passionfruit...and those are just my favourites! It is always tooo hard to decide - This trip was long enough that we went twice. If you love your icecream get them to make a peak in the old fashioned way - delish!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seaspirals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice-Cream”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Simply the best ice-cream in Hawkes Bay! lots of choice and good seating/cafe area too. Recommended :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Feetup619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Of Plenty
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“~OMG~”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I dont generally dont even "love" ice cream--but we went with the family for a treat!.
WOW I had a banana split with cream topped honey/ginger ice cream and the other scoop was rum & raisen and THEN maple syrup with chopped nuts!==SCRUMMY!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rush Munro's also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Rush Munro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing