We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Lodge in New Zealand Wine Country”
Review of Greenhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenhill Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had the pleasure of a two night stay at the historic Greenhill Lodge in early February 2014. It was magnificent! John and Christine are wonderful hosts. The lodge is in the countryside very close to the wineries that we toured during the day. Highlights for us included evening cocktails fireside, sumptuous breakfast, sweet treats in our room, sleeping on exquisite bed linens and bathing with my favorite Molton Brown toiletries. We decided to dine at the lodge one night and it was so special. The evening was cool enough to start a fire so we had canapés and wine by the fire in the living room to start our evening. Then into the beautiful dining room with a table that seats 12 that was set for just for the two of us... Beautiful flowers, crystal, candles and another roaring fire. So romantic and so good! It was like a scene out of Downton Abbey. John's tour around the lodge and property was worthwhile as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Deborah T
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us at Greenhill. It was our pleasure being your hosts on your visit to Hawke's Bay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the dinner as well. We strive to make each guests stay special and its lovely to read your gracious comments.
kind regards
John & Chirstine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Greenhill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for only one night at Greenhill Lodge but wish we had planned more time with John and Christine. Just driving up to the Lodge is quite an experience - hidden from view until you turn up the drive, yet it dominates the surrounding countryside. We were told about it's history and given a tour of the features from the tower to the bath probably used by the Queen Mother!

The room was perfect - comfortable and quiet with every convenience. Drinks and dinner were served with great style in front of real fires. The food was memorable with much of it prepared from home-grown produce by Christine. For breakfast we were joined by the rest of their family and we were made to feel so relaxed and at ease.

We have every intention of going back to New Zealand and Greenhill Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant but if you want to stay as a family go for the cottage - the views over...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Phil T,
Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you both and are thrilled that Greenhill provided you with a relaxing retreat during your New Zealand holiday. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back on your next trip to Hawke's Bay.
kind regards
John & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Should one like to be treated as a very special guest and stay in beautiful, one of a kind inn; this lodge should be at the top of your list...John and Christine are amazing....highly recommend the option of dinner prepared by this wonderful couple...the best of the best...One will not be disappointed....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Momo367,
Thanks very much indeed for your kind comments on your recent stay with us, we enjoyed hosting you on your visit to Hawke's Bay and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
kind regards
John & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had the opportunity to stay 2 nights at this lovely property in Hastings, NZ March, 2014. This unique - charming - fabulous Lodge absolutely takes your breath away. Christine, one of the owners is a top notch hostess from her friendly warm welcome, well thought out extras, to her homemade blueberry muffins, croissants and jams. And did I mention the bathtub out under the stars in the two bedroom cottage? This lodge was a surprise and a delight!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Gr8travel,
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Greenhill. It was a pleasure meeting you and being your host during your visit to sunny Hawke's Bay and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of being your hosts when you return to NZ.
kind regards
Christine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wasn't quite sure what to expect as we were meet at the Napier airport by hosts John and Christine and the rest of the clan from around the country for a reunion at Greenhill lodge but the welcoming there with John complete in the family kelt etc was a grand start.
The drive into the property certainly had us all excited and then to see the grand villa we knew we were in for a special treat, we weren't dissappointed either. The canepes, entrees, mains and desserts just kept coming not to mention the fine wines and as a special treat one of John's fine malts from his secret cellar. The awesome full size billiard table and room with roaring fire and the All Blacks playing on the big screen topped with Christine's lovely nibbles made the day. One has to mention the beautiful rooms and amenties and beds that are so comfy, very hard to wake up. I have travelled to many places in the world and this has to rank as one of the very best experiances for sure, well done Chris and John and of course Nessie.

Room Tip: Check out John's special breakfast and his his cellar.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Marty,
Thank you for you very kind comments on your recent stay with us for your friends reunion, we thoroughly enjoyed being your hosts for this very special occasion.
We enjoyed meeting all of you and hope that on a future occasion you may choose to return to Greenhill for another reunion.
It is always heartening to read such kind comments from a guest who is as well traveled as your self and who has such a discerning appreciation for fine food and wines and single malt whisky.
with best wishes
John & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What can we say? We stayed at some of the top rated "lodges" in NZ and this small, quaint, former sheep station was voted as No. 1 or No. 2 by the three of us.

The property is fabulous and historic but the shining light are your hosts, John and Christine. They became the third owners of the property about 18 months ago. No retirement for a "retired" executive of the Langham hotel chain - putting all that hospitality experience to work.

We only spent 2 nights - we will return and spend more time in Hawke's Bay doing more wine events.

First - gracious and knowledgable (about the area) hosts. Christine is a fabulous cook and breakfasts and dinners were superb. In keeping with "local", John only serves Hawke's Bay wines.

John acted as our tour guide - lining up the Napier Art Deco tour (well worth it) but more importantly a 1/2 day wine tour (his first). He carefully selected 3 (oldest, newish and monied, and quirkiest) wineries. Unfortunately because our first 2 visits spent so much time with us as they knew John - we had to skip one before heading to Napier. John knows his wines and is building strong relationships with the wine makers.

We were fortunate to have the cottage with spectacular views, lots of space, good internet, and yes cows much of the day coming to the porch.

We guarantee you will have a fabulous time...

Room Tip: If your group or family is large enough - go for the cottage (2 bedrooms separated by a kitchen and...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear JoeHouston52,
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments on your recent stay. It was a real pleasure being your hosts for your visit and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back in future.
We both enjoyed your company and introducing you to all of what Hawke's Bay has to offer.
It is especially rewarding to read such compliments from such a well traveled guest with such discerning taste.
kind regards
John & Christine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The moment we arrived we had a very warm welcome from The owner John and the dog Nessie.We stayed in the cottage which was great however not for two couples, perfect for parents with two children. Christine and John where wonderful hosts as nothing was too much trouble for them.We enjoyed the Frette sheets and the bath on the outer deck watching the country side and the cows . We where very spoilt as it was Xmas and Santa Claus even delivered us presents . This wonderful stay will live in our memory bank for ever.

Room Tip: Cottage great for one couple or family
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenlynne143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Karenlynne 143,
Thanks very much for your kind comments on your stay with us over Christmas, we both enjoyed meeting you and sharing this special time with you on your visit through New Zealand.
kindest regards
John & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.8 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
80 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
246 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
919 reviews
17.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
8.5 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhill Lodge

Address: 103 Green Hill Road, Hastings 4174, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $644 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Greenhill Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious, elegant and historic country homestead located just 25 minutes to Napier and 15 minutes to either Havelock North or Hastings, ideally situated in the heart of New Zealand's food and wine country with over 50 wineries, local farmers markets and organic produce stores nearby.Greenhill is an opulent yet tranquil retreat, situated on a hilltop overlooking lush farm and grazing land.Having hosted English royalty this historic homestead houses two luxurious suites and two elegant guest rooms, most of which open to wide verandas and sensational views over magnificent gardens with historic mature trees. A private Cottage set apart from the lodge offers two bedrooms and two ensuite bathrooms with an elegant lounge and a luxurious outside bath. Behind the lodge lies a swimming pool, croquet lawn and a flourishing private orchard with a herb garden.Greenhill offers the finest luxury lodge experience in Hawke's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing