We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate place for relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenhill Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ultimate place for relaxation”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for only one night at Greenhill Lodge but wish we had planned more time with John and Christine. Just driving up to the Lodge is quite an experience - hidden from view until you turn up the drive, yet it dominates the surrounding countryside. We were told about it's history and given a tour of the features from the tower to the bath probably used by the Queen Mother!

The room was perfect - comfortable and quiet with every convenience. Drinks and dinner were served with great style in front of real fires. The food was memorable with much of it prepared from home-grown produce by Christine. For breakfast we were joined by the rest of their family and we were made to feel so relaxed and at ease.

We have every intention of going back to New Zealand and Greenhill Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant but if you want to stay as a family go for the cottage - the views over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Phil T,
Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you both and are thrilled that Greenhill provided you with a relaxing retreat during your New Zealand holiday. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back on your next trip to Hawke's Bay.
kind regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Should one like to be treated as a very special guest and stay in beautiful, one of a kind inn; this lodge should be at the top of your list...John and Christine are amazing....highly recommend the option of dinner prepared by this wonderful couple...the best of the best...One will not be disappointed....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Momo367,
Thanks very much indeed for your kind comments on your recent stay with us, we enjoyed hosting you on your visit to Hawke's Bay and we hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.
kind regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had the opportunity to stay 2 nights at this lovely property in Hastings, NZ March, 2014. This unique - charming - fabulous Lodge absolutely takes your breath away. Christine, one of the owners is a top notch hostess from her friendly warm welcome, well thought out extras, to her homemade blueberry muffins, croissants and jams. And did I mention the bathtub out under the stars in the two bedroom cottage? This lodge was a surprise and a delight!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Gr8travel,
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Greenhill. It was a pleasure meeting you and being your host during your visit to sunny Hawke's Bay and hopefully we'll have the pleasure of being your hosts when you return to NZ.
kind regards
Christine & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wasn't quite sure what to expect as we were meet at the Napier airport by hosts John and Christine and the rest of the clan from around the country for a reunion at Greenhill lodge but the welcoming there with John complete in the family kelt etc was a grand start.
The drive into the property certainly had us all excited and then to see the grand villa we knew we were in for a special treat, we weren't dissappointed either. The canepes, entrees, mains and desserts just kept coming not to mention the fine wines and as a special treat one of John's fine malts from his secret cellar. The awesome full size billiard table and room with roaring fire and the All Blacks playing on the big screen topped with Christine's lovely nibbles made the day. One has to mention the beautiful rooms and amenties and beds that are so comfy, very hard to wake up. I have travelled to many places in the world and this has to rank as one of the very best experiances for sure, well done Chris and John and of course Nessie.

Room Tip: Check out John's special breakfast and his his cellar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Marty,
Thank you for you very kind comments on your recent stay with us for your friends reunion, we thoroughly enjoyed being your hosts for this very special occasion.
We enjoyed meeting all of you and hope that on a future occasion you may choose to return to Greenhill for another reunion.
It is always heartening to read such kind comments from a guest who is as well traveled as your self and who has such a discerning appreciation for fine food and wines and single malt whisky.
with best wishes
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
540 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What can we say? We stayed at some of the top rated "lodges" in NZ and this small, quaint, former sheep station was voted as No. 1 or No. 2 by the three of us.

The property is fabulous and historic but the shining light are your hosts, John and Christine. They became the third owners of the property about 18 months ago. No retirement for a "retired" executive of the Langham hotel chain - putting all that hospitality experience to work.

We only spent 2 nights - we will return and spend more time in Hawke's Bay doing more wine events.

First - gracious and knowledgable (about the area) hosts. Christine is a fabulous cook and breakfasts and dinners were superb. In keeping with "local", John only serves Hawke's Bay wines.

John acted as our tour guide - lining up the Napier Art Deco tour (well worth it) but more importantly a 1/2 day wine tour (his first). He carefully selected 3 (oldest, newish and monied, and quirkiest) wineries. Unfortunately because our first 2 visits spent so much time with us as they knew John - we had to skip one before heading to Napier. John knows his wines and is building strong relationships with the wine makers.

We were fortunate to have the cottage with spectacular views, lots of space, good internet, and yes cows much of the day coming to the porch.

We guarantee you will have a fabulous time...

Room Tip: If your group or family is large enough - go for the cottage (2 bedrooms separated by a kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeHouston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear JoeHouston52,
Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments on your recent stay. It was a real pleasure being your hosts for your visit and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back in future.
We both enjoyed your company and introducing you to all of what Hawke's Bay has to offer.
It is especially rewarding to read such compliments from such a well traveled guest with such discerning taste.
kind regards
John & Christine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The moment we arrived we had a very warm welcome from The owner John and the dog Nessie.We stayed in the cottage which was great however not for two couples, perfect for parents with two children. Christine and John where wonderful hosts as nothing was too much trouble for them.We enjoyed the Frette sheets and the bath on the outer deck watching the country side and the cows . We where very spoilt as it was Xmas and Santa Claus even delivered us presents . This wonderful stay will live in our memory bank for ever.

Room Tip: Cottage great for one couple or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenlynne143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Karenlynne 143,
Thanks very much for your kind comments on your stay with us over Christmas, we both enjoyed meeting you and sharing this special time with you on your visit through New Zealand.
kindest regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

When we were trying to decide on locations for our Luxury car launch we couldn't go past Greenhill Lodge with it's grounds and grandour from another era.

The Lexus of Hawke's Bay team would like to congratulate John and Christine for putting on one of the best events Lexus of Hawke's Bay has had.

Not only did they control the weather for us and give us a stunning Hawke's Bay day, they whipped together an amazing gourmet lunch...including a dessert that not one of our female guests could resist.

Inviting us into their home as if it was our own and guiding our guests through the rooms, grounds and secret nooks and crannys of the tower, everyone had such a wonderful time listening to the history and stories of Greenhill Lodge.

The suites have been done to such a stylish standard that many of our guests were packing their bags ready to move in or taking down notes for their next renovation! You instantly felt at home in any of the suites with beautiful top quility linens and finishings, with views onto the courtyards or hills of the surrounding Maraekakaho area.

Lexus customers know what to expect in a luxury car, Greenhill Lodge represents this in luxury accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexus_Hawkes_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Lexus of Hawke's Bay team,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted that you and your clients enjoyed your event at Greenhill. We are proud that you chose Greenhill to host such prestigious events, launching the new Lexus IS model, and being able to assist you to entertain your clients in a unique and stylish fashion.
We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your clients back on future occasions.
kind regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
76 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
232 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
562 reviews
17.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
830 reviews
17.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhill Lodge

Property: Greenhill Lodge
Address: 103 Green Hill Road, Hastings 4174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Greenhill Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious, elegant and historic country homestead located just 25 minutes to Napier and 15 minutes to either Havelock North or Hastings, ideally situated in the heart of New Zealand's food and wine country with over 50 wineries, local farmers markets and organic produce stores nearby.Greenhill is an opulent yet tranquil retreat, situated on a hilltop overlooking lush farm and grazing land.Having hosted English royalty this historic homestead houses two luxurious suites and two elegant guest rooms, most of which open to wide verandas and sensational views over magnificent gardens with historic mature trees. A private Cottage set apart from the lodge offers two bedrooms and two ensuite bathrooms with an elegant lounge and a luxurious outside bath. Behind the lodge lies a swimming pool, croquet lawn and a flourishing private orchard with a herb garden.Greenhill offers the finest luxury lodge experience in Hawke's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing