We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Greenhill Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claremonte Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Court Motel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omahu Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$97
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valdez Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portmans Motor Lodge(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$104
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magpie Motel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manse(Hastings)
$405
$376
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amici Motel(Hastings)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
60
3
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
3
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgracious hostscountry estatenew zealandmany levelsrural environmenthawkes bayevery amenityspecial treatbedroom cottagehighlight of our triplocal winerieseach eveningboth nightsyogurtthe kitchenjohnproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 65 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

When we were trying to decide on locations for our Luxury car launch we couldn't go past Greenhill Lodge with it's grounds and grandour from another era.

The Lexus of Hawke's Bay team would like to congratulate John and Christine for putting on one of the best events Lexus of Hawke's Bay has had.

Not only did they control the weather for us and give us a stunning Hawke's Bay day, they whipped together an amazing gourmet lunch...including a dessert that not one of our female guests could resist.

Inviting us into their home as if it was our own and guiding our guests through the rooms, grounds and secret nooks and crannys of the tower, everyone had such a wonderful time listening to the history and stories of Greenhill Lodge.

The suites have been done to such a stylish standard that many of our guests were packing their bags ready to move in or taking down notes for their next renovation! You instantly felt at home in any of the suites with beautiful top quility linens and finishings, with views onto the courtyards or hills of the surrounding Maraekakaho area.

Lexus customers know what to expect in a luxury car, Greenhill Lodge represents this in luxury accommodation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexus_Hawkes_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Lexus of Hawke's Bay team,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted that you and your clients enjoyed your event at Greenhill. We are proud that you chose Greenhill to host such prestigious events, launching the new Lexus IS model, and being able to assist you to entertain your clients in a unique and stylish fashion.
We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your clients back on future occasions.
kind regards
John & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our two night stay with John and Christine was like being in a storybook. Everything was grand!
We loved exploring the grounds as well as the star filled southern hemisphere sky after a wonderful dinner. We did finally find the Southern Cross. Words cannot express this experience. We love gourmet food and each meal was a presentation of a master chef. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Barb
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your stay, it was our pleasure to be your hosts and we really enjoyed meeting you both as well as star gazing in the Hawke's bay night skies after dinner.
Thanks again for your gracious comments we're delighted you felt like royalty.
kind regards
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for few nights, stopping by from our road trip from Auckland down to Wellington, back in Feb 2010. Words can't describe how wonderful our stay was..love the meal prepared by chef Andre and the owners were so friendly and made us really like being home away from home and even more! You need to check it out yourself and will understand what I'm talking about.. :) you won't be disappointed..highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnyC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have just returned from Hawkes Bay where we spent a magical week with John and Christine at Greenhill Lodge. Our hosts were the most obliging and friendly couple you could ever hope to meet and our stay with them was wonderful. The house and grounds are magnificent and stately, yet you feel relaxed and at home from the minute you arrive. Christine's cooking (especially her baking!) is fabulous and there is always a fresh banana cake or berry muffin to be enjoyed. Nothing is too much trouble for them. There is a pool and a billiard room for those wanting to take advantage of some of the extras available, but sitting on the beautiful verandah reading a good book with a freshly brewed cup of their home-blended tea is just as enjoyable. All the food is fresh and delicious and there is plenty to choose from. Our room had beautiful views through the french doors and lovely, ornate high ceilings. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was always a piece of slice or cake and fresh fruit in our room and a chocolate on the pillow each day. we have travelled through many parts of the world but have never stayed anywhere better. We look forward to returning to Greenhill Lodge again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Kathryn
Thanks very much indeed for your gracious and kind comments, both Christine and I were delighted you enjoyed your stay at Greenhill. We thoroughly enjoyed being your hosts during your visit to Hawke's Bay and look forward to warmly welcoming you back on your next visit.
kind regards
John & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Lodge in January, 2013 and it quickly became the favorite place we have ever been. The minute we walked in we immediately felt at home, because as wonderful as the Lodge itself is, the owners are even more wonderful. Christine and John made us feel like family. The facility itself is wonderful - we wish we had had more time to take advantage of all that it offered. The house is magnificent with a wonderful combination of interesting art, fabulous books (I'd love to be sequestered there for a year just to attack the library), antiques, beautiful and comfortable furniture, roaring fireplace. There was a feeling of having stepped into a movie of gracious life as it "used" to be - yet with all the conveniences of a modern home.
Our suite was luxurious and we really can't think of anything lacking. The grounds were beautiful with lots of fruit trees and flowers filling the air with sweetness. There is a beautiful pool, a great billiard room and an exercise room which we really should have used after the fabulous meals we were treated to. The breakfasts, cocktail hours and dinners were excellent - Christine is a master chef - we couldn't have asked for anything more. They were the most accommodating hosts imaginable. We could go on and on - this really was a highlight of our trip "down under." The only thing we would have done differently is that this peaceful, warm, lovely spot would have been the best, most relaxing, enjoyable place to end the vacation - we'll plan it that way next time!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumpbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Mumpbabe
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your stay. It was a great pleasure meeting you both and we enjoyed being your hosts, enabling you both to have a relaxing break.
We very much look forward to your next visit and hope you can stay longer with us as well.
kind regards
John & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews