We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury lodge”
Review of Greenhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenhill Lodge
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury lodge”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The moment we arrived we had a very warm welcome from The owner John and the dog Nessie.We stayed in the cottage which was great however not for two couples, perfect for parents with two children. Christine and John where wonderful hosts as nothing was too much trouble for them.We enjoyed the Frette sheets and the bath on the outer deck watching the country side and the cows . We where very spoilt as it was Xmas and Santa Claus even delivered us presents . This wonderful stay will live in our memory bank for ever.

Room Tip: Cottage great for one couple or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenlynne143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Karenlynne 143,
Thanks very much for your kind comments on your stay with us over Christmas, we both enjoyed meeting you and sharing this special time with you on your visit through New Zealand.
kindest regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

When we were trying to decide on locations for our Luxury car launch we couldn't go past Greenhill Lodge with it's grounds and grandour from another era.

The Lexus of Hawke's Bay team would like to congratulate John and Christine for putting on one of the best events Lexus of Hawke's Bay has had.

Not only did they control the weather for us and give us a stunning Hawke's Bay day, they whipped together an amazing gourmet lunch...including a dessert that not one of our female guests could resist.

Inviting us into their home as if it was our own and guiding our guests through the rooms, grounds and secret nooks and crannys of the tower, everyone had such a wonderful time listening to the history and stories of Greenhill Lodge.

The suites have been done to such a stylish standard that many of our guests were packing their bags ready to move in or taking down notes for their next renovation! You instantly felt at home in any of the suites with beautiful top quility linens and finishings, with views onto the courtyards or hills of the surrounding Maraekakaho area.

Lexus customers know what to expect in a luxury car, Greenhill Lodge represents this in luxury accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexus_Hawkes_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Lexus of Hawke's Bay team,
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are delighted that you and your clients enjoyed your event at Greenhill. We are proud that you chose Greenhill to host such prestigious events, launching the new Lexus IS model, and being able to assist you to entertain your clients in a unique and stylish fashion.
We look forward to warmly welcoming you and your clients back on future occasions.
kind regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our two night stay with John and Christine was like being in a storybook. Everything was grand!
We loved exploring the grounds as well as the star filled southern hemisphere sky after a wonderful dinner. We did finally find the Southern Cross. Words cannot express this experience. We love gourmet food and each meal was a presentation of a master chef. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Barb
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your stay, it was our pleasure to be your hosts and we really enjoyed meeting you both as well as star gazing in the Hawke's bay night skies after dinner.
Thanks again for your gracious comments we're delighted you felt like royalty.
kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for few nights, stopping by from our road trip from Auckland down to Wellington, back in Feb 2010. Words can't describe how wonderful our stay was..love the meal prepared by chef Andre and the owners were so friendly and made us really like being home away from home and even more! You need to check it out yourself and will understand what I'm talking about.. :) you won't be disappointed..highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have just returned from Hawkes Bay where we spent a magical week with John and Christine at Greenhill Lodge. Our hosts were the most obliging and friendly couple you could ever hope to meet and our stay with them was wonderful. The house and grounds are magnificent and stately, yet you feel relaxed and at home from the minute you arrive. Christine's cooking (especially her baking!) is fabulous and there is always a fresh banana cake or berry muffin to be enjoyed. Nothing is too much trouble for them. There is a pool and a billiard room for those wanting to take advantage of some of the extras available, but sitting on the beautiful verandah reading a good book with a freshly brewed cup of their home-blended tea is just as enjoyable. All the food is fresh and delicious and there is plenty to choose from. Our room had beautiful views through the french doors and lovely, ornate high ceilings. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was always a piece of slice or cake and fresh fruit in our room and a chocolate on the pillow each day. we have travelled through many parts of the world but have never stayed anywhere better. We look forward to returning to Greenhill Lodge again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Kathryn
Thanks very much indeed for your gracious and kind comments, both Christine and I were delighted you enjoyed your stay at Greenhill. We thoroughly enjoyed being your hosts during your visit to Hawke's Bay and look forward to warmly welcoming you back on your next visit.
kind regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new city, new york, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Lodge in January, 2013 and it quickly became the favorite place we have ever been. The minute we walked in we immediately felt at home, because as wonderful as the Lodge itself is, the owners are even more wonderful. Christine and John made us feel like family. The facility itself is wonderful - we wish we had had more time to take advantage of all that it offered. The house is magnificent with a wonderful combination of interesting art, fabulous books (I'd love to be sequestered there for a year just to attack the library), antiques, beautiful and comfortable furniture, roaring fireplace. There was a feeling of having stepped into a movie of gracious life as it "used" to be - yet with all the conveniences of a modern home.
Our suite was luxurious and we really can't think of anything lacking. The grounds were beautiful with lots of fruit trees and flowers filling the air with sweetness. There is a beautiful pool, a great billiard room and an exercise room which we really should have used after the fabulous meals we were treated to. The breakfasts, cocktail hours and dinners were excellent - Christine is a master chef - we couldn't have asked for anything more. They were the most accommodating hosts imaginable. We could go on and on - this really was a highlight of our trip "down under." The only thing we would have done differently is that this peaceful, warm, lovely spot would have been the best, most relaxing, enjoyable place to end the vacation - we'll plan it that way next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumpbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Mumpbabe
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your stay. It was a great pleasure meeting you both and we enjoyed being your hosts, enabling you both to have a relaxing break.
We very much look forward to your next visit and hope you can stay longer with us as well.
kind regards
John & Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to ring in the New Year 2013 at Greenhill Lodge. The new owners, John and Christine (and their energetic, friendly dog Nessie!) are supreme hosts! Because of their unique one-booking at a time policy, we had the luxury of their company as well as the entire, beautiful estate and grounds to ourselves for 3 magical days. The home is big enough that it would be a wonderful place for a group of friends or extended family to spend quality time together, but at the same time it is intimate enough that it can be enjoyed just for two. The accommodations have been perfectly maintained to preserve their historical integrity while also providing every modern convenience. We spent several blissfully happy afternoons simply reading on the shaded, breezy front deck, or sitting in the sun by the pool, or strolling through Christine's beautiful gardens. Every morning we enjoyed Christine's homemade muffins and delicious granola with local yogurt, honey and preserves, and John's expertly-made egg dishes to order! During the day we went fly-fishing and would explore the beautiful Hawkes Bay wineries and restaurants. And each evening was a treat, enjoying conversation with John and Christine while partaking in homemade canapes and delicious wines from the area before heading out to dinner at local wineries or restaurants that they recommended for us. We love hotels and have stayed in many luxurious places all over the world where service and amenities are spectacular; Greenhill will join the list of some of our favorite places including Le Sirenuse in Positano, Eden Rock in St. Barths, Dar Ahlam in Morocco, and the Nam Hai in Vietnam. Greenhill was truly unique in terms of providing personalized, gracious service in a gorgeous, historic setting. All in all, a perfect stay and we couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate a special holiday!

Room Tip: We had the MacLean Suite, which is gorgeous and expansive with a sitting room and two bathrooms. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.7 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
78 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
241 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
17.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
17.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhill Lodge

Property: Greenhill Lodge
Address: 103 Green Hill Road, Hastings 4174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Greenhill Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious, elegant and historic country homestead located just 25 minutes to Napier and 15 minutes to either Havelock North or Hastings, ideally situated in the heart of New Zealand's food and wine country with over 50 wineries, local farmers markets and organic produce stores nearby.Greenhill is an opulent yet tranquil retreat, situated on a hilltop overlooking lush farm and grazing land.Having hosted English royalty this historic homestead houses two luxurious suites and two elegant guest rooms, most of which open to wide verandas and sensational views over magnificent gardens with historic mature trees. A private Cottage set apart from the lodge offers two bedrooms and two ensuite bathrooms with an elegant lounge and a luxurious outside bath. Behind the lodge lies a swimming pool, croquet lawn and a flourishing private orchard with a herb garden.Greenhill offers the finest luxury lodge experience in Hawke's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing