We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized luxury, in a gorgeous, historic setting!”
Review of Greenhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenhill Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Personalized luxury, in a gorgeous, historic setting!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate enough to ring in the New Year 2013 at Greenhill Lodge. The new owners, John and Christine (and their energetic, friendly dog Nessie!) are supreme hosts! Because of their unique one-booking at a time policy, we had the luxury of their company as well as the entire, beautiful estate and grounds to ourselves for 3 magical days. The home is big enough that it would be a wonderful place for a group of friends or extended family to spend quality time together, but at the same time it is intimate enough that it can be enjoyed just for two. The accommodations have been perfectly maintained to preserve their historical integrity while also providing every modern convenience. We spent several blissfully happy afternoons simply reading on the shaded, breezy front deck, or sitting in the sun by the pool, or strolling through Christine's beautiful gardens. Every morning we enjoyed Christine's homemade muffins and delicious granola with local yogurt, honey and preserves, and John's expertly-made egg dishes to order! During the day we went fly-fishing and would explore the beautiful Hawkes Bay wineries and restaurants. And each evening was a treat, enjoying conversation with John and Christine while partaking in homemade canapes and delicious wines from the area before heading out to dinner at local wineries or restaurants that they recommended for us. We love hotels and have stayed in many luxurious places all over the world where service and amenities are spectacular; Greenhill will join the list of some of our favorite places including Le Sirenuse in Positano, Eden Rock in St. Barths, Dar Ahlam in Morocco, and the Nam Hai in Vietnam. Greenhill was truly unique in terms of providing personalized, gracious service in a gorgeous, historic setting. All in all, a perfect stay and we couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate a special holiday!

Room Tip: We had the MacLean Suite, which is gorgeous and expansive with a sitting room and two bathrooms. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A wonderful combination of new (and ultra-luxurious) blended seamlessly with historic, grand, charming and very stately. Perfect weather always caps a wonderful stay and cooling off in the beautiful pool,or taking a private bath outdoors under the stars is an experience never to be forgotten ! Adding further to our delight with this stay, Greenhill's service is both discreet and attentive. We could not fault our stay and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewsatambury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Stewsatambury
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Greenhill and I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves, and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
It is especially rewarding to read that everything we aspire to provide for our guests’ experience you have mentioned, which we will continue to enhance and improve.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and I look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
kind regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We spent two nights at the Lodge (Jan, 2012) and were delighted with our choice - what a gorgeous spot, totally peaceful and beautiful views and gardens. Our room was supremely comfortable (we had a king suite) and Oh, the bliss of having a bathroom each....what a treat. Our room opened out to the generous verandah with comfortable chairs to sprawl in - which was exactly what we spent quite a bit of time doing. The pool is lovely, and the way that the lodge is configured means that you feel like you have the whole place to yourself. Do check out the reading room (it is unique! )
We were very well looked after by our host Paul - nothing was too much trouble for him. We had breakfast there both mornings and enjoyed the gracious service. Decided to treat ourselves to dinner there for the first night, and it was very good (albeit quite pricey)
Great proximity to vineyards, the nearest ones just a few minutes away.

Room Tip: The King suite was fantastic, it had beautiful views, direct access to the verandah and I would defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you to all of the previous guests who have taken time to comment on Greenhill Lodge.
Taking over as new owners of Greenhill Lodge in June 2012 has been a delight and we have spent many months since then enhancing the lodge and the magnificent gardens as well as the wine cellar, cuisine and special packages we offer to guests.
Greenhill now provides an exclusive 'country house' experience, accepting only one party at a time, be it a couple, extended family or a group of friends. This ensures that you can enjoy your own personal space privately with your partner, friends or family, and the lodge and the entire estate are yours to enjoy and explore.
I look forward to warmly welcoming guests to Greenhill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Had two nights at Lodge, the service was excellent and the food superb. The lodge is old world in a very quiet location. Perfect for a few days out of the world cup nights. Hosts could not have done more.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquawkingMagpie, Owner at Greenhill Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Greenhill Lodge. We appreciate you kind comments about the property and service you experienced. We hope you enjoyed your taste of Hawkes Bay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards Craig Hay - Owner - Greenhill Lodge, Hawkes Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,229 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My partner and I recently returned from a 9 day surprise anniversary holiday excursion to New Zealand, during which we stayed our last 2 nights at the Greenhill Lodge. (We previously stayed 1 night at the Westin Auckland, 3 nights at the Spire Hotel in Queenstown, and 2 nights at the Wharekauhau Lodge in Wairarapa.) We prefer to stay in out of the way boutique properties, or in city hotels like the Four Seasons or Ritz Carleton or comparable luxury hotels. Greenhill is a wonderful boutique lodge in a rural area adjacent to the winery region of Hawke's Bay, and we absolutely loved it.

First, the location is exquisite. You are perched high on the top of a hillside looking out onto the pastures and rolling hills in every direction. Lambs and sheep are everywhere around you. You feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. That being said, it was only a 15-20 minute drive to many of the wineries in the Hawke's Bay wine region.

Second, the lodge, itself, is beautiful. Restored Victorian manor house, as previously stated, and the owners, Neil and Craig, did a great job making it feel comfortable and traditional yet with a chic clean decor style that showed very well. We were one of only 2 couples the first night, and the only couple there for our second night, so we really felt like it was our own little place away from home.

We stayed in the Villa Suite separate from the main lodge, which was more like a cottage unto itself. We had a nice living room and dining area, as well as a master bedroom and bath and separate bedroom with 2 twin beds, as well as another full bath and a spacious kitchen/bar. We used the 2nd bedroom as a staging area for our clothes. The master was small and cozy, and the master bath was small, as well, but since we had the additional full bath, we each had our own bathroom/shower, so it didn't feel cramped. (IHad we been a family of four, though, it might have been a wee bit more crowded.) We had a huge deck looking out onto unobstructed views of the surrounding country, with grazing lambs often coming right up to the deck. There was a separate deck with an English style bathtub off the master bedroom. Very cute. Very chic decor amidst a very traditional cottage setting. It really was a cute place to stay--we felt like we were renting our own small cottage, rather than staying at a lodge. It was just a short 2 minute walk to get to the Lodge, itself.

Service was great. The owners, Craig and Neil, were both gracious hosts. Trevor, their manager, was also wonderfully warm and hospitable. Whenever we needed anything, they were more than happy to help of give suggestions.

Food was altogether good if not great. We had wonderful breakfasts each morning, and they were more than happy to oblige our varied requests off the menu. Dinners were 3 or 4 course affairs, and they generally were great--though my partner's chicken the first night was just OK. (My lamb, not surprisingly, was fantastic.) However, when we realized the price for the dinners, I must confess that they didn't quite measure up to some of the best restaurants we visited while in New Zealand. Good but not great, again. The food at Wharekauhau was definitely a bit better, but we still enjoyed the food and dining at Greenhill.

We were in Hawke's Bay to do wine tasting, and the wineries were wonderful. We had a private guide who was sensational--Yvonne Marie Lorkin, a New Zealand wine columnist and consultant, who was warm, engaging, friendly, and extremely knowledgeable about the country's wine industry as a whole. She took us on an amazing tour of the best wineries in Hawke's Bay, along with tastings with the proprietors and winemakers at almost all of those we visited. We really felt like we got the best of Hawke's Bay in Yvonne's hands. If you are visiting, definitely try to arrange to tour with her if she is available.

Otherwise, we didn't do much while at Greenhill but relax and chill out. What a wondeful place to do that!

We highly recommend Greenhill. My partner had originally booked us to stay at the Lodge at Cape Kidnappers, but wisely changed our booking once he reviewed photos and realized it might be a bit too formal and traditional for us. Greenhill was a nice combination of great service, extremely remote locale with great access to Hawke's Bay, with a traditional feel and yet reasonably chic decor and style all blended together. I also felt that Greenhill offered us the New Zealand cottage/homestead feel far more than other accommodation might have been able to provide, particularly because we stayed in the Villa Suite. We lacked wireless internet in the Villa Suite, which frustrated us again, but that didn't preclude us from enjoying our stay at all, of course. (The Lodge has wireless, of course.)

We would highly recommend Greenhill Lodge, though we might encourage them to consider better pricing for their dinner menu. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay there and would certainly consider staying there again if our travels ever brought us back to Hawke's Bay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This is a really great place to stay. The owners, Neil and Craig, make you feel very welcome and cannot do enough for you. Their life is made easier by Helen and Trevor (and the fabulous chef whose name escapes me for now ).

We stayed there for 3 nights over Easter and ate there for 2 of those nights (on the third night we were meeting friends otherwise we would have eaten there). The wine and food is delicious.

Highlights include: a beautiful and peaceful location, close enough to all the vineyards, and the towns of Napier, Hastings and Havelock North, Helen - who is in charge of breakfast and is charming (one morning she went out of her way to get us a lunch booking at a vineyard - no mean feat on Easter Monday - and organised our entire day for us), Trevor's afternoon tea - just the ticket after a day out - always accompanied by shortbread or something else tasty.

Disadvantages: there aren't really any. Obviously, if you want a nightclub then this area is not for you?!

In terms of price, a stay at any of the NZ lodges is a treat; compared to a motel or chain hotel you do pay top dollar. Having said that at Greenhill everything we ate or drank was included so the bill did not come as a surprise. Also, the motels and chain motels in NZ (while clean and functional) do not tend to be places you want to spend much time at during the day/afternoon. At Greenhill you can be as lazy or active as you like. Most of the guests seemed to go out after breakfast and came back mid afternoon for tea and a rest before drinks and canapes in the lounge!

We will go back one day (hopefully soon).

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Lalage2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed here over Christmas 2007 and thoroughly agree with the other great reviews posted on Tripadvisor. The location is just fabulous and the accommodation was among the best we experienced during our NZ trip. The food and wine were first class throughout, we were very well looked after and we were very sad to leave on Boxing Day. We even received a lovely gift of local olive oil, which is excellent. If you are travelling near Hastings come and stay here.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Driving away
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fat_CatCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.7 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
79 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
244 reviews
8.5 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
17.7 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
17.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhill Lodge

Property: Greenhill Lodge
Address: 103 Green Hill Road, Hastings 4174, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Greenhill Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gracious, elegant and historic country homestead located just 25 minutes to Napier and 15 minutes to either Havelock North or Hastings, ideally situated in the heart of New Zealand's food and wine country with over 50 wineries, local farmers markets and organic produce stores nearby.Greenhill is an opulent yet tranquil retreat, situated on a hilltop overlooking lush farm and grazing land.Having hosted English royalty this historic homestead houses two luxurious suites and two elegant guest rooms, most of which open to wide verandas and sensational views over magnificent gardens with historic mature trees. A private Cottage set apart from the lodge offers two bedrooms and two ensuite bathrooms with an elegant lounge and a luxurious outside bath. Behind the lodge lies a swimming pool, croquet lawn and a flourishing private orchard with a herb garden.Greenhill offers the finest luxury lodge experience in Hawke's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing