We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portmans Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth staying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Loved the ambience of the studio .very spic and span room, bathroom even the kitchen is nice with the amenities provided just perfect for any one .especially if you have little kids.
Clean linen and towels.would definitely stay once again if we visit Hastings .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulkaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
18
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Motel was in a great location for us.Rooms we're clean,and comfortable,plenty of nice clean,white soft towels.No problems with noise,had a good sleep.Our room backed onto a road .Hosts are very helpful so I'm sure they would try their best to accommodate any requests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us it was a pleasure to host you. We look forward to next time you are in Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We recently stayed at Portmans Motor Lodge for a 4 night stay and found this Motel to be a great size very clean and a great location. The hosts were very helpful and friendly I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again a great choice!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The room was spacious, clean, the shower was great (lots are not!), the towels luxurious and the location very handy. A special thing was the chilled water in the frig when we arrived hot and bothered after a day's travel. But I was worried about the windows which seemed to allow for a small person to enter without our knowledge. we closed them to the lock position and so were a bit hot and bothered overnight. We were agreeably surprised by the lack of noise from street traffic. the people here were welcoming and lovely to deal with.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finona68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a night here and the lady host was extremely helpful, the location in terms of the town was great as we could just walk into town for dinner and supplies. The room was clean and spacious but I did find it a bit noisy from the train, the road and tenants within the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I loved the room it was clean and tidy and yes good quality. It was handy to eating places in the evening. The food was great and on time. I found the female owner very helpful and obliging for what was needed. I would recommend this Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Please to hear that your stay at Portmans was pleasant for you.
We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Hastings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well placed close to the centre of Hastings the room was spotlessly clean with a good bed. If I was ever in Hastings again would certainly consider using this motel again. If you need a breakfast I would suggest buying the ingredients from a local shop and making it yourself.

Room Tip: You may wish to be as far away from the rail line as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We are proud of the way our staff keep the units for you.
However I am sorry to hear that perhaps breakfast was not up to scratch as we are often complimented on them.
All of our ingredients are grown locally and we like to work by the simple and flavoursome values, however we will take a fresh look at them to see how we can improve them.
Look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.2 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#4 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#9 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#7 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmans Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmans Motor Lodge

Property: Portmans Motor Lodge
Address: 401 Railway Road, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmans Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmans Motor Lodge features a heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawkes' Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawkes Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the lodge. Hawkes Bay Airport and Napier is a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portmans Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing