We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portmans Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Can't say enough about this wonderful motel. Very clean and tidy and oh so quiet and relaxing. The pool was very clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Totally worth the money. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda27LowerHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Portmans.
The summer weather has been fantastic and its great to see the pool being used so much.
We do look forward to hosting you next time you are visitng Hastings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 66 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

David and I choose to stay only at Portmans when we visit our son and daughter-in-law. We have a comfortable and friendly stay EVERY TIME.

The rooms are clean, fresh looking, modern, well appointed and stocked.

The owners are always friendly, helpful and obliging and interested in us not just as guests.

We highly recommend this Motor Lodge for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Pleased to read that your stay with us is always enjoyable.
Many thanks for your comments, they are always appreciated.
Looking forward to hear more of your exciting new move, next time you are in Hastings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while we toured around the beautiful countryside and visited Napier. The motel is close to downtown, eating etc. it was quite spacious, clean and had everything that we needed. On the recommendation of the owners we went one evening to Vidal winery subject of its own review. The owners were quite helpful in recommending what to se and do in the area.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Portman's for 9 nights. We arrived days earlier than booked and after 11:00 pm. Both Robert and Keren were extremely helpful and consistently friendly throughout our stay. We found the facilities to be clean and well maintained.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Portman's to anyone staying in Hastings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

we had a lovely studio room, nice modern decor. nice comfortable big bed, flat screen tv on wall. the studio room didn't have a full kitchen but jug, toaster, microwave and electric frying pan. very clean. we stayed here as it was very close to central city. very friendly, helpful staff. we had a very pleasant 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to hosting you both on your next visit to Hastings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I spent a night at Portmans Motor Lodge recently and found it to be extremely pleasant. The room was clean and tidy, with a big comfortable bed. A DVD player was provided at my request, and the hosts were lovely to deal with. It's very close to the Hawke's Bay Opera House, and Hastings city centre. The tea/coffee selection was a lot more varied than standard motels which is always a bonus. We have tickets to a show at the Opera House later in the year, and I've already booked our room in advance. There's a bit of traffic noise in the early evening, plus the train track is nearby, but it certainly didn't bother me. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side of the complex, away from the main road, may be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GisbornePartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Had a lovely three night stay in a family unit. It was clean and quite well equipped, and we found the hosts very helpful. Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We were at the front and there was some noise from the traffic light/crossing, and of course the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.2 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
95 reviews
7.4 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Omahu Motor Lodge
Omahu Motor Lodge
#10 of 18 in Hastings
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portmans Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portmans Motor Lodge

Address: 401 Railway Road, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $98 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portmans Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portmans Motor Lodge features a heated outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, ample parking in front of your unit, a Conference/Display Room and Wi-Fi access. It is situated just 5 minutes walk from the cafes, restaurants and bars of Hastings City Centre. All units at Portmans Motor Lodge Hastings are ground floor, spacious and modern and feature a kitchenette, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Electric blankets and satellite TV are provided. Some rooms also have a spa bath. Continental and cooked breakfasts can be delivered to the guest rooms. Guests can charge their meals at selected local restaurants back to their room. Hawkes' Bay Opera House is just 750 metres from Portmans Motor Lodge. A 5 minute walk to Hastings Racecourse and Splash Planet water theme park is 8 minutes drive away. Attractions, such as wineries, golf courses, Te Mata Peak Trust Park a 15 minute drive. Hawkes Bay Golf Club and Hastings Golf Club are within a 15 minute drive from the lodge. Hawkes Bay Airport and Napier is a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portmans Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing