We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
John's House & The Pavilion
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
cork
1 review
“The Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our son and daughter in law in early November 2012. We had celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary earlier in Ireland, and were treated to this weekend away in Hawkes Bay. It was truly amazing. It lent itself to some slow time, barbeques, good wine, good food and great company. I certainly hope that we will get the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjw1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We feel very fortunate owning this property and it is always a pleasure to share it with our guests from NZ and all around the world. Everyone who stays seems to discover some charm or magic which endears. It is truly gratifying to read the lovely comments in the reviews. Thanks - we appreciate having you stay and helping make your holiday special.
Nick & Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found John’s House online then checked TripAdvisor reviews before booking for 5 days. We weren’t disappointed. This house has true architectural character, a really interesting history and a very special ambiance. It is beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and furniture and everything you might need for a self catering stay. The house is situated in its own green grass gardens, surrounded by colourful plants and beautiful trees – the hiss of the sprinkler during hot days was so relaxing. We also enjoyed delving into the book cases near the front door and sometimes found it difficult to leave the patio and do the tourist trails nearby. John’s House is situated just minutes between Havelock North and Hastings but also close for visiting Napier and the Hawke’s Bay wineries. The owners Nick and Judy supply fabulous goodies for breakfast including home made muesli, preserves and fresh fruit from the gardens. Nick was specially helpful and knowledgeable about restaurants and tourist spots - if only we could have dragged ourselves away from the house more often! If you are considering this property, don’t hesitate – it really casts a magical spell.

Room Tip: Need a car but everything close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

It is not often that a vacation rental is also an architectural gem. John's House truly lives up to its website description. We enjoyed 5 days of bliss and could have stayed for more. The house, the hosts, and the setting are all excellent and there is the added attraction of the four legged residents in the paddock for our entertainment. For anyone who likes to cycle get a bike from Village Cycles and Tours in Havelock North and go explore the wonderful bike paths and wineries!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at John's house recently attending a friends wedding in Havelock North. We were a family of four with two extra adults. We couldn't have had a more pleasant experience. The house is on a farm with cows, pigs, and alpacas. All of us, especially the kids, thoroughly enjoyed the experience!! The highlight though was the hospitality of the owner, who was very helpful from the date of the booking throughout our entire stay! He was especially great with our kids! Would highly recommend John's house if you ever have a chance to go to this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asia_travel_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

John’s House is a rare find. Perfect location between Hastings and Havelock North. The house is an architectural pleasure – great light and space, with a lovely flow and great views from every room. So comfortable and relaxing - a true home away from home. Our dog was welcome too – an added bonus. Without hesitation, I’d recommend John’s House to anyone visiting Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncsnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

John's house is such a wonderful place to stay while in Hastings! It is close to everything and is such a peaceful house. There is so much privacy and the house has a very 'at home' feel. It is nice to relax around the house all day or a retreat to come back to at the end of a fun-filled day. The gardens are very well maintained and the house is very well cared for. It is spacious and comfortable with so many windows to look out of. It is very private and you don't see any other houses around. Nick is very helpful as well and checks in every so often to make sure everything is okay and if there is anything he can help with. We had an awesome weekend here, just wish we were able to stay longer! I would definatley recommend John's house if you are going to be in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a large group at John's House without any problems. It is a nice spacious property with beautiful garden - it is lovely seeing the animals over the fence too : ) An airbed was inflated and dressed for us and breakfast was provided including homemade muesli and fresh milk from the cows. We felt so spoilt! I loved all the art, photos and books around the place, it is so homely - the guest book showed that even Ian McKellan (Lord of the Rings) had enjoyed a stay there! It is so peaceful and quiet making it so easy to relax there. We had planned to go out on one of the evenings but found that we liked hanging out at the house so it was a night in for all : )
We booked an On Yer Bike winery tour so we got a shuttle to the main office. This was about $50. If you take your own car then you have the freedom to get anywhere across the Hawkes Bay from John's House. We went to the Sunday market at the Racecourse which is very close by. The only negative I would say is that there wasn't an iPod dock or other music facility. I would highly recommend John's House for a relaxing weekend in the Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renrenfiretruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.0 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millar Road
Millar Road
#1 of 10 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millhills Lodge
Millhills Lodge
#4 of 10 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's House & The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's House & The Pavilion

Property: John's House & The Pavilion
Address: 58 Miller Road | off St Georges Road North, Hastings 4130, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — John's House & The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique holiday accommodation is a designer two-bedroom house created by celebrated architect John Scott located in the Hawke's Bay / Hastings / Havelock North area on the north island of New Zealand. Conveniently located 20 minutes from all the best Hawke's Bay area things to do including cycling trails, wineries, golf courses, restaurants and shops, you can also reach the Havelock North village with a leisurely 10 minute walk along the Karamu Stream cycle track from John's House. Private ensuite facilities, pastoral setting, stunning views, full kitchen, bed and breakfast-style morning meal supplies, outdoor living areas, free wifi, pet friendly facilities, and disabled accessibility are some of the most popular amenities that John's House guests mention in their rave reviews. More than just a short-term holiday rental, because of its unique architectural design and stylishly appointed interior spaces, John's House is a memorable part of any Hawke's Bay holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your John's House & The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing