We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of Salvare Estate Winery - CLOSED

Salvare Estate Winery
Price range: $21 - $28
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Enjoy one of our "Taste of Hawke's Bay" cheese platters in the vines while enjoying a complementary tutored tasting of up to 6 wines. Then finish your platter with the one you enjoyed the most or a glass of our famous Frappe Vino wine cocktail. Note: We are a cellar door that offers platters and not a full restaurant. At Salvare we believe in a slower pace of life.....In taking time to enjoy the journey. We believe the same of wine, that it is best when enjoyed, not consumed. Whether it be with friends or family, good wine, like good food creates lasting memories of shared experiences. If you are looking for a little "Salvation" as you travel around "The Bay" be sure to stop in at Salvare Estate.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stopped at this winery after having a expensive and boring lunch at a previous one. It looked interesting from the road with the old car and interesting advertising "wine tasters wanted".
The lady present was extremely helpful and sampled the products with no charge which was a bonus. Bought some oils and tried the wine frappe which we all loved and bought the 3 pack as this was great value. Would highly recommend this place to anyone for a stop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvareEstate, Owner at Salvare Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks for stopping by. I'm glad you enjoyed the visit. Hopefully we will see you again in 2014. If you need to restock the Frappe Vino just jump on our website ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 62 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stopped here as part of a vineyard cycling tour we were doing, having stopped in 6 vineyards in this area this was by far the best. We were offered tastings of numerous wines and also a wine frappe, with no charge compared to some which cost us up to $10. We also went for the sharing platter lunch, fantastic food - save this vineyard for a lunchtime stop! Atmosphere was great and we were able to sit outside and take our time over trying the wines. Once we had finished each wine the staff brought out the next one for us. Staff were both fantastic, very friendly and very knowledgeable about the wines. Definitely visit here as part of a vineyard tour or as a one off stop!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvareEstate, Owner at Salvare Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi Fiona,

Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and I have passed your comments on to the team. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were riding the winery trail on our bikes and decided to stop here spontaneously. The young man behind the counter was SO friendly and helpful! We were allowed to sample as many wines as we wanted. Other wineries were not so friendly due to the small amount of space we had for carrying any purchases - only a backpack, and so they presumed that we would not buy their product. We enjoyed a frozen frappe outside under an umbrella next to the vines so much, that we even purchased a "mix" of this to have at home, even though it is 93% sugar! It just goes to show you that with a lovely manner, customers will be lulled into buying. What friendly staff and a really lovely experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvareEstate, Owner at Salvare Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Hi Shelly,

I'm glad you popped in. I will pass your comments on to Louie who served you. We look forward to seeing you again some time. Regards Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This winery was an impulsive stop on our wine tour and I am so glad it was. The experience was one of our favorites, where the wine maker was serving the wine tastings and had us sit down at on of their tables while we were able to taste an offering of their wonderful wines. We found it a nice touch to sit and talk with the wine maker about the region, the wines, the food, all while slowly tasting their beautiful wines. We were also able to try some of their great food products of dips and sauces and such. I can say we did not leave empty handed and ended up purchasing quite a few bottles of wine and food. We were treated like a good friend who had come in for a visit which just made this experience one that was a favorite.

Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvareEstate, Owner at Salvare Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thanks for the generoius feedback/comments Lindsay. I have passed them on to Elise who looked after you. I think it always enhances an experience when you can talk to the people behind the products. Its also good that you had the chance to enjoy our "Slower pace of life" We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Salvare is a must visit, great wine awesome atmosphere and the red barn called door makes a great spot for photoes . the owner is frendly and made us feel at home.

Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalvareEstate, Owner at Salvare Estate Winery, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thanks for the review Hamish. We appreciate the feedback and we look forward to seeing at Salvare again some time soon. Regards Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvare Estate Winery also viewed

Fernhill, Hastings
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing