We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slightly chilly birthday treat.”
Review of Splash Planet

Splash Planet
Ranked #4 of 39 things to do in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home to thrilling slides and rides Splash Planet offers something for all. Stay dry with favourites such as Formula Fun Go Karts, Mini Golf and the nostalgic Fantasyland Express or get wet and wild in the awesome water theme park with the Master Blaster and the most extreme ride of all the Sky Castle Screamer.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A slightly chilly birthday treat.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited Splash Planet on a dull day in December for Miss aged 10 birthday. Despite the weather it was still very busy though. Not quite what we had been expecting, rides were much smaller and tamer than advertising suggests and no "swimming" pool which I think the adults would have used and enjoyed. That said it meant that we didn't have accompany the kids to combat nerves.

Take a picnic the queues for the food were laughable and badly organised (but I think they had a computer/printer failure that day). The queues for some of the other activities were very long but again what you would expect at any theme park during school holidays. My advice do the other activities before getting really wet so you're not getting chilly waiting in line. The lockers were not deposit refundable ones. Other family places I've been have more sophisticated lockers where you pay for the day and have a code so you can open and close it as often as you want. Or just a small fee for single use. We locked away our valuables and kept everything else with us. The female changing rooms were not as clean (floor littered and dirty) or functioning (locks on doors broken) as they could have been.

Staff didn't seem to interact with guests other than to tell them not to do something and didn't seem to help with distributing the floats and tubes in a fair manner. Some kids we're on the continuous river with six floats when the park was full. And some smaller kids had to wait a long time for tube.

Still it was good day out and we all had fun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    99
    33
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland , New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A wonderful water adventureland for kids and growen ups alike. Plenty to do and laughs all round. Another must do when in Hastings. Great facilities.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaaABPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loads of fun for the family”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We had a great day at Splash Planet 2 January. We had 8 of us, 4 adults and 4 kids (4-6).

The slides were fun for all and the outside pool play areas great for the different age kids we had.

Loads of other things to do but some of them had an hour wait - bumper boats and cars so didn't bother. Some of the delay was caused by slow moving staff seeming to not realise it was busy and needed to move at a less glacial speed and others was the crowd.

Would have been excellent on a quieter day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So overcrowded..”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Was really looking forward to coming here, and we did end up quite enjoying ourselves, but probably wouldn't go back.

With the exception of one staff member everyone was really nice and were doing their best. The place was quite well looked after with nice bright paint and plenty of inflatables.

The lines for the dry rides were really insane though (incl. the mini golf which ran out of clubs and balls). The slides were fun, but definitely less scary than we hoped, and that the brochure/website had suggested. The pools were cold - at best a sickly lukewarm... Couldn't stay in the lukewarm pools long though because the pools (all the pools to be honest) were so overcrowded you'd be lucky to get yourself a metre square for more than a minute.

Would have loved there to have been a few private spas available to book. We would definitely have paid to warm up and have a little space to ourselves for half an hour.

The overcrowding also meant cleaning was difficult, it was hard to find anywhere to sit, and the food seemed to take forever to be ready. If we did it again we would definitely take a lot of food and water with us.

The lockers also cost $2 every time you wanted to lock them. This meant that retrieving towels, food etc. could quickly become quite expensive if you were there as a family.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peran H, Manager at Splash Planet, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to give Splash Planet theme park some feedback. I am generally interested in how we could possibly address some of the concerns you have around your day? Should we limit numbers into the facility? Limit numbers on activities? Heat pools? And then what kind of price would you be prepared to pay? On our busy days we are put under presure, but that is holiday time when everyone wants to come. Would appreciate any further feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent place to visit with Family or Friends. Kids Heaven”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amazing place with tons of activities to do that even a whole day won't be enough. Water Slides, Swimming pool, In house Spa, Showers, Toy Train and plenty of other activities.

We been to this place thinking of sparing maximum 2 hours but end up spending more than 4 hours and still were not able to enjoy even half of the activities :)

The only downside I found was poor food, that too after long queues and exorbitant Locker charges ($2 coin per open)

Overall a MUST MUST MUST visit place in Hastings

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GouravNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Planet also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Splash Planet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing