We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Ten?? I think not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We needed a place to stay with our three kids after a long day's drive from Wellington. We paid our $80 and drove to our designated piece of grass with its plug just before 7pm. We looked around and found the pool A. was very very cold B. closed at 7:30pm C. required $8 payment to sit in the hot tub. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!?! Then, we discovered the $1 charge for 4 or 6 minutes (conflicting signs). ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!!? The kids discovered the trampoline to be in disrepair with holes in the netting. My daughter happened into the "family cabins" washrooms - yikes!! It was seriously scary. Front desk was not particularly cheerful to change any opinion. However the main bathrooms were fine, the outdoor kitchen sinks were clean. I just think if you're granted the Top Ten franchise, then paying for showers and hottubs and having facilities 'seen better days' isn't consistent. Perhaps an audit and review of your name/fees is in order. It's not the worse, but hard to look past these things to recommend it. Therefore, I do not recommend this campsite as it is not good value. Carry on to Napier....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karenwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HastingsTop10, Front Office Manager at Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Thank you for your review.
As management we would like to clarify a few things.
Our park is the only holiday park in Hastings. Hastings is a prldomenant wine and orchard growing region.
All year round and every year we have a huge influx of people staying outside this park from over seas to work in the orchards. They freedom camp, and can also stay in the orchards/fields themselves.
Particularly this time of the year, thousands of people come to town. Before we metred the showeres every night and day, we would have people sneaking into this park to use the showers. We have tried locks, we have spent a fortune installing cameras everywhere. To know avail.
They just do not use all the facilities, they can also leave a huge amount of work/mess. Not to mention a security issue to all staying at our park
We have found by metreing the showers, it has nearly illuminated the problem.
Unfortunately, it can upset others.
We have tried to adjust our tarriffs accordingly, and communicate to all staying that our showers are metred before they visit our park.
(You will find that approx 25% of parks in NZ have Metred showers)
Our NEW pool complex - Heat pumps are being installed in 10 days times, arriving from America, and our large pool will be kept at a constant 34 degrees, right threw winter and will be free of charge to all staying at our park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Our family of 3 camped on a non-power site at Hastings Holiday Park over Waitangi weekend. The campsite was spacious and quiet, and kitchen facilities good ( and clean).
However, i was disappointed to find we had to pay $1.00 per use of the coin -operated showers. I expected all facilities to be inclusive at a Top 10 holiday park which is supposedly a top of the range camping ground. At $21 per person per night, surely a "free" hot shower is not too much to ask for. Managers should supply shower tokens if the aim is to limit hot water use or free up facilities.
We were participating in a sporting event and would have enjoyed the spa pool (in a smart new swimming pool complex) but at $8.00 for 30 minutes decided this was also a bit of a rip-off!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed only one night in transit through to Gisborne, but third time at Hastings Top10. Stayed in the basic cabin this time which was clean and functional, pretty cramped for 4 people. Toilet/showers were clean enough. Showered at SplashPlanet so we didn't need to fork out extra cash for showering at the camp ground, which I wouldn't expect at a Top10 normally. The pool and outdoor dining area are excellent but overall I'd describe the place as looking 'a bit tired'.
Service was 50/50, staff at the office were fantastic and helpful but did have to wait until 3 o'clock until the cabin was ready.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floydbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Location - edge of town however even in town there is next to no night life. One shop near but if you are not looking for junk food then look elsewhere.

Amenities - when you paid $36 per night for a campsite you expect the place to be clean! In the ladies bathroom only about two of the toilet have working locks, and the same can be said for the showers! Not only that but they hot water take an age to come though considering you're paying $1 for 6 minutes of shower time! The bathrooms are freezing as goes for the kitchen area as you can't close the doors and there is mud all over the floors.

They seem to be building some sort of "spa" so you better like being woken up early by the noise of builders and vans moving about the place.

Oh and make sure you have gone to a cash machine before you get here, there isn't one for miles!

How this place ever became a "top 10 resort" is beyond me! It's shameful!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kbleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The toilets had a dirty smell, showers needed a lot of money for a few minutes hot water, what took half of the time to arrive in the shower and after that a hard job to regulate.
The inside of the cabin was shocking fool with spiderwebs and fat black spiders crawling around on top of that we got an invasion of ants.
Crumbles of previous guest were still under the cushions of the seats.
Response of the host was not helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank pluisthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir waren auf dem Campground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HastingsTop10, Front Office Manager at Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McMoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HastingsTop10, Manager at Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.9 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
247 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
65 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
1.6 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 610 Windsor Avenue, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: $57 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park – Setup camp to discover all that Hastings, Napier and Havelock North has to offer.10 Acres of beautiful park like grounds, in the centre of Hastings. Shady tree-lined avenues, amazing landscaped grounds,Large heated Swimming pool with amazing outdoor BBQ area ,topped with our own lake make this park a relaxing, enjoyable holiday setting for everyone to share. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing