We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighful Homestay”

Grandvue Country Stay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grandvue Country Stay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hastings B&B and Inns
Northants
1 review
“Delighful Homestay”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I spent 3 nights with Dianne & Keith and thoroughly enjoyed my stay with them. Both were prepared to spend time to point out local points of interest which are never shown in the brochures. They were happy to discuss their experience of life in NZ which I found interesting coming from the UK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast BC
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had been unable to get accommodation in Hastings and so ended up at Keith and Diane's place, Grandvue Country Stay. We originally booked for one night and Diane told us there was so much to do in the area so we booked another night. We loved the area and there certainly is a lot to do. The Art Deco weekend in Napier was fabulous.
Keith and Diane are so welcoming of you into their home and they truly represent the spirit of hospitality in New Zealand. They treat you like family, sit down at breakfast with you and they are so helpful in sharing where to go in the area and what to do. When we arrived Diane right away offered us a cup of tea and we sat down together in the shade and felt right at home.

Room Tip: The rooms are not separate entrance rooms and not all rooms have their own bathroom but this was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in December. The house enjoys a tranquil & beautiful location overlooking extensive vineyards. The accommodation is clean & spacious & Diane & Keith are very friendly, knowledgeable & attentive hosts. I was touring NZ & Diane even helped me to arrange my next night's accommodation en route to Wellington.
The breakfast was excellent & I enjoyed a delicious three course meal with my hosts al fresco each evening.
I could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Dianne and Keith have a lovely home overlooking vineyards near Napier and Hastings. We stayed for one night in late January and enjoyed the relaxing, quiet setting, the helpful and informative hosts, a quiet, cool, and comfortable sleep and a fabulous made to order breakfast. One word of advice for visitors: follow Dianne's directions, as Google Maps will send you on a wild goose chase!

Room Tip: The en-suite room at the back is lovely and quiet and cool, even on a hot night. Bathroom tiny, but...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank estherlenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A relaxing haven overlooking the vinyards. Keith & Dianne are freindly and welcoming making this a home away from home. Good clean rooms and excellent food in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. I'll be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights, and used this as a base for a couple of bicycling trips in the area - including a 34 km Wineries Ride. It was like staying with old friends - Dianne and Keith are lovely people. The location is up on a hill overlooking the vineyards through maturing trees. The swimming pool was refreshing after a long ride, and we enjoyed breakfast outside with our hosts each morning. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tehoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having stayed in holiday parks and motels for much of our trip, this B&B was an absolute treat. Our hosts were a fountain of fascinating information about New Zealand, explaining things that puzzled us and steering us toward activities and restaurants we would never have found in a guide book. The room was better than a motel room. Great breakfasts. At first we thought the rural location was out of the way, but it was well-located for visiting the whole area as it turned out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TakuTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
4.4 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
30 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#8 of 18 in Hastings
23 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
64 reviews
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Frimley Lodge Motel
#12 of 18 in Hastings
29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandvue Country Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandvue Country Stay

Property: Grandvue Country Stay
Address: 2596 State Highway 50, Hastings 4175, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing