We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend away”
Review of Millar Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Millar Road
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend away”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spend a weekend away in one of the villas on the estate. It was very nicely laid out and even though the weather was rainy and cold, the views and the cosy fireplace made a the stay very enjoyable. We also had lovely local produce and wine for our use in the fully equipped kitchen and lots of information of the local area.
I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank why_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
64
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We will come back in summer for sure.
Amazing view, top quality bedding, modern kitchen, nice free wine, delicious breakfast, short drive to Havelock North, everything is perfect. We really would stay there forever!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg_at_Millar_Road, Owner at Millar Road, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Glad you liked it. See you in summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This must be our 4th visit over a period of almost 7 years and each time it's hard to leave. We stayed in MR1 which is more private but still gets that glorious view over the vines towards the ocean. Everything is top quality from the bedding to the provisions. Faultless. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had only one night at Millar, but thoroughly enjoyed it - a beautiful place to stay overlooking the ocean and the property's vineyards (producing a great sauvignon blanc). The villa was extremely comfortable, would be perfect for 2 couples, and the breakfast supplies were delicious. A wonderful place from which to enjoy Hawke's bay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent 5 nights in the estate, as part of the wedding party.

Millar Accommodation has a large house (4 bedrooms) and two villas (each has 2 bedrooms). There's also a pool between the house and the 2 villas. The rooms are up on a hill and overlooks some vineyards and out into the bay. The surroundings are beautiful and relaxing.

We stayed in both the villas and the large house. I have to say I prefer the villas - they're more cozy and each bedroom had their own bathroom. The house was very nice as well, but tended to be quite echo-y which made it a bit noisy. Also bedrooms need to share bathrooms. On the plus side, the house has a microwave. There's also a herb garden to the side of the house (but no mint).

The place is a little off the beaten track - right at the end of Millar Road and then some. It's a bit out of town and perfect if you want to get away from everything and just relax for a while.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carooolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Spent one night here when I went to the Mission Estate Concert. Fantastic property. We stayed in a villa which was perfect for two people (friends) or 2 couples as there are 2 double bedrooms each with en suite. Stunning view over the vineyard to the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebuds63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

These well appointed and spacious villas have a wonderful vista over the property's own vineyard out to the coast beyond.

Loved the location which allows easy access to Waimarama Beach, the Wineries and Havelock North.

Great spot to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Both villas are similar size and situation, there is also a huge house for bigger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_from_Ohtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Farm at Cape Kidnappers
3.5 mi away
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
Craggy Range Vineyard Cottage
#4 of 11 in Havelock North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millar Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millar Road

Property: Millar Road
Address: 83 Millar Road | RD10, Hastings 4180, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millar Road 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millar Road offers seriously stylish accommodation on a beautiful vineyard estate nestled into the northern end of the Tuki Tuki Hills with panoramic views taking in mountain ranges, Hawke’s Bay wine country and the Pacific Ocean. Millar Road is a true New Zealand design experience, with award-winning architectural design and contemporary New Zealand furniture, furnishings and art. Millar Road’s 20-hectare estate includes a large house, two villas, a swimming pool and a pool house. Up to 16 adults can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millar Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millar Road Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing