We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place has definitely seen better days. It is tired and everything needs updating but it was reasonably priced.
It's not a bad location, within easy walking distance of the town centre and okay for one night but I wouldn't recommend having a holiday there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzySoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    15
    11
    21
See reviews for
19
21
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice owner/staff, attractive on the outside, good price, given milk, newspapers and lots of tea making facilities, good facilities overall, great location.
Negatives, my room really had seem better days, some other units had been refurbished, but not mine, internet pricey, I would expect that in the room rate these days, TV not well, few channels and the volume control didn't do what it was supposed to but was ancient.
Overall acceptable low budget option.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there in early Dec. Have been there before. Charged was overrated as they said it was the 'holidays'. Motel was filthy. Curtains didn't even hang on the hooks properly. Table had not been wiped since last tourist, it was all sticky. Couldn't open kitchen window as there was wheelbarrows propped up against them. Carpet was absolutely filthy with spots on it. Curtains in main room needed washing. Dust above doors, lampshades dirty. We paid for two nights and it was not serviced on the 2nd day. The cutlery door was full of crumbs - had to was dishes before we could use them. The bathroom floor was flithy. It was two bedroom but the bathroom ran off bedroom two so if the person in the lounge was the loo at night they had to go through an occupied room. I could go on but for $140 per night I will NEVER stay there again and will NEVER recommend to anyone. This is the dirtiest motel/hotel I have ever stayed in. And yes, I was a hotel housemaid and we had to CLEAN the unit. Not a good look for overseas tourists.

Room Tip: Book on arrival if possible AFTER you have seen the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patricia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Disappointing really, embrassing. We are a family of 3 staying 2 nights 26, 27 December 2012.
Our little girl loved the swimming pool & swings. The Apple Motel advertised SKY. There were channels 1, 2 and 3, we had was Discovery but no broadcast on channel 8. The rest of the channels seemed similar- a total of 9 channels. Noticed straight away that carpets were worn and stained,sticky bedside tables and vanity, chippies under the bed dishes unclean and cutlery and dishes were kept in a vanity. Had to wash dishes in bathroom sink before use, with the toilet just behind while washing (strange) poor service, were not given tea & coffee sachets & face cloths during room service next day. Our general feeling was we felt we were in a grubby motel and were happy to get out of there. Note: A deposit was required and we were asked to pay the remainder on arrival, which effectively locks you in. We have learnt something here, to always check feedback from other people who have stayed there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Warwick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good budget accomodation. - Received an upgrade from the Budget Studio we had booked to an upstairs unit - which received great morning sun.
Close and handy to plenty of dining choices.
Front of complex accomodation block was used for long term orchard workers from the islands.
Clean and tidy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very disappointed with our stay here - fortunately only booked in for one night. Site run down and in need of urgent facelift. Accommodation very grubby and well worn. Rust on outside and inside of fridge, sofa and bed uncomfortable, shower ingrained with dirt. Site very noisy - loud music and raucous laughter until late. Didn't sleep much at all. Paid $120 for stay and standard of accommodation fell well below that of other places where we stayed for similar price. We are regular visitors to NZ and this is easily the worst place we have stayed at. Never again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdoptedKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Good budget affordable accommodation, had everything we needed, kids enjoyed the pool, spa & swings. Staff were very helpful. Nice quite room. I also do not agree with others saying “avoid at all costs”.

Found the room very hot, the fan heater didn’t seem to help. Found there was quite a few long-term imported apple pickers staying who hung washing everywhere, didn't make the motel look very attractive but it really didn't effect my stay. Yes I would be happy to return as it was very affordable.

Booked for a family of 5x, thinking I was getting 1x double bed & 3 singles but got 1x Double, 2x singles & a couch, Those couch beds are not that great to sleep on... ouch

Room Tip: ask what beds are availabe in the room, avoid sleeping on the couch bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jojonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.3 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clansman Motor Lodge
Clansman Motor Lodge
#10 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#4 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Motor Inn

Property: Apple Motor Inn
Address: 409 Railway Road | Raureka, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accommodation only 290 metres from the centre of town. Friendly staff invite you to enjoy our all weather barbecue area, spa and swimming pool. Relax and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apple Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing