We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view, with great hosts!”
Review of Villa Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Russell
Ranked #7 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Steve and Sue were very hospitable. They tended to our every need and more. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a spetacular view.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanfranciscopanini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Villa Russell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2009

Right in the heart of quaint Russell, in the Bay of Islands You will find this home away from home, Sue and Steven will make your day almost better than the weather does. With 3 suites to choose from two of which have personal verandas you will find yourself falling asleep to the sound of the bay water and the wind whistling through the curtains of your french doors. Take a wonder through town after dusk and look up, the stars above will amaze you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetgthing21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Our stay at Villa Russell was fabulous. Stephen and Sue Western go out of their way to make you feel right at home. Their knowledge of New Zealand made our siteseeing effortless. The rooms are very comfortable and spotless. The views form the balcony are exceptional and to top it off they have sailboat excursions available. They make you feel like you are visiting with family. We would highly recommend staying at their villa .
Bill and Jane

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlebillnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Villa Russell took our breath away. A beautiful little B & B with only 2 rooms, Extremley peaceful and relaxing. The water views were just amazing. The owners are just wonderful people who go out of their way to please you. Very kind people. It is very close to the Beach and walking distance to the town city with quite a few beautiful restaurants. I can recommend the Thai restaurant also.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boothy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Rooms are spacious, modern, well equipped and super clean. The views from the patio really are stunning.. absolutely amazing! Short walk from local shops, walk on ferries, restaurants/bars and the beach! The hosts are fantastic.. very friendly with lots of great information about the local area, wildlife, etc... we enjoyed bbq's on the large deck and a brilliant day on the 'Kingfisher' yacht, checking out local bays and enjoying snorkeling, swimming, etc.

Would definitely recommend Villa Russell to anyone; whether you are looking for a base to take in lots of local adventures or a relaxing getaway, Villa Russell will accommodate :0)

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreholidays55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Watch out when staying here; you will get lost in the idyllic surroundings and never leave. The design of Villa Russell complements the historic nature of the town without taking away the luxuries of an upscale bed and breakfast. Sue and Stephen are friendly, outgoing and courteous hosts and I looked forward each morning to a great breakfast on the balcony looking out at the ocean view.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGeoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Spent 4 nights here at the start of a month in NZ and Australia. Very good location with excellent resteraunts and museums within easy walking distance in Russell town. Beaches close by and major historical sights.Lovely atmosphere in the evening.
Accomodation very good with wholesome breakfast. Hosts Sue & Stephen very friendly and helpful and a day out sailing on their boat was the icing on the cake. Could happily have stayed longer. Allow 4 hours to drive to Russell from Auckland airport.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molar42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#1 of 20 in Russell
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ounuwhao Harding House
#6 of 20 in Russell
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Russell

Address: 2 Little Queen Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: $118 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a welcoming visit to Villa Russell, two minutes from the beach and Russell's restaurants yet totally private and secluded. Relax with magnificent views of the bay from our beautifully restored 1910 villa or from one of two spacious guest rooms in the new guest cottage. Off street parking provided. Charters on our 11.6 metre yacht Kingfisher may also be arranged to sail the Bay of Islands. Be welcomed by our friendly family dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Villa Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Russell New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing