We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Russell
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Duke Motel(Russell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triton Lodge(Russell)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
68
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostscomfortable large roomb byogurtnew zealandbalcony overlookingfantastic propertyeach morningshort strollpre dinner drinkshome away from homebeautiful houseplace to stayfew minutes walkamazing viewsa real treatcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 71 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Photographs do not do justice to the idyllic setting of Villa Russell nor can words adequately describe the genuinely warm and kind hospitality that Sue and Stephen show to their guests.
Spotlessly clean, elegant and very comfortable room and surroundings made our brief two day visit a very pleasurable experience. The Westerns clearly enjoy meeting new people and sharing their vast local knowledge and remain enthusiastic despite probably saying the same thing dozens of times and answering the same questions numerous times over the years.
A quiet hill top enclave only a few minutes walk from the main street and beaches I cannot recommend a stay here highly enough. I will be back in a few months to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic outlook and one can be turned into a twin bedded room if there are two friends travelling together.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Villa Russell, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you Brenda for taking the time to review our place - we loved having you here and it was great to be able to give you the experience of the Hangi at the Tall ships event
regards
Sue and Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband & I spent two nights at with the Westerns at their B&B in November, and we are hoping to return someday. First of all, the views from the porch are incredible - we have some of our most stunning sunset photos in NZ from the Villa Russell's porch. Second, we were a close walk to the beach where we gathered green mussels, and (following Sue's advice) steamed some up for our happy hour overlooking the harbor. Third, our room had a charming combination of Victorian England & contemporary design, with a terrific bath. Finally, we found talking with Steve about his photography (and viewing his work) an incredible experience. We wish them well, and would commend this spot to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Villa Russell, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your review - we appreciate you taking the time to write about us. having guests staying with us is what we love the most
Sue and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Villa Russell is a little paradise with a very relaxing and peaceful atmosphere, stunning views including beautiful sun-sets and lovely hosts. Sue & Stephen make our stays always enjoyable. The bedrooms have very comfortable super-sized big beds. The breakfast in the mornings are superb - freshly cooked breakfast with eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and hash browns - also fresh fruit and homemade yoghurt are served on the deck in summer-time.
Villa Russell is just up the hill from the town and waterfront. It only takes you a couple of minutes to walk to restaurants, cafes and galleries.
A must do - is a sailing trip in the Bay of Islands - Stephen took us out on an adventures Kingfisher cruise. Exploring the islands, snorkelling in crystal clear water and enjoying a cold beverage while relaxing in the hammock. Morning tea and delicious lunch is served on the boat too - the entire experience is "worth its weight and gold".
After coming home to Villa Russell we enjoyed a glass of wine on the deck with an amazing sunset.
It is an excellent place to have a relaxed and peaceful break - we always come back to Villa Russell.
Thanks Sue & Stephen for being such lovely hosts!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Villa Russell, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it and look forward to another visit in the future
Sue and Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed three days in July.

Sue and Stephen were exceptional hosts, friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to find out our likes and dislikes to suggest itineraries during our stay.

The room (upgraded) was comfortable clean and spacious. The kingsize bed was as comfortable as a bed could be and came equipped with electric blankets "just in case". The ensuite bathroom included welcome heated floors, in fact very welcome as we were there in the winter. BTW winter is a fantastic time to visit if you are not going for on/in the water activities as there are none of the crowds so making it a very peaceful and calming break. The views from the room were possibly the best in Russell, they certainly stirred our souls.

Sue's breakfasts, both cooked and continental, are superb. Fresh local produce, her own home made preserves from fruit from the garden and bountiful portions made lunch redundant.

The location is at the end of the main street so easily accessible to all facilities and the beach

Would heartily recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiki_Tourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I took the bedroom in the house as it was the cheaper option - there is better value in the area, usually one pays around 120 to 150 a night, and this was 185 a night. The good stuff is that the views are amazing. Russell is one of my favorite places in the world, packed with charm. Villa Russell has the convenience of being walking distance from the bustle of the restaurant sea front, and the quiet and views of being a little up the hill. Sue is flexible with breakfast and accomodated my egg and tomatoe request. I was on my own for the first night and Sue included me in her morning walk with friends which was really nice of her. On the second day she offered to drive my husband to golf as she was going that way. Stephen takes charters on his boat Kingfisher for 110$ a person which includes lunch and beverages. This is a fabulous day out - well worth doing even if you decide not to stay with them. Their studio accomodation is probably much nicer than staying in the house, although pricier, if you aren't on a budget, this would probably be a more private option. However they made us feel incredibly at home despite the fact we were in their sitting room and kitchen quite a bit.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra, take the detached studio rooms for more privacy
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourmaline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews