We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mocha in all of New Zealand”
Review of Waterfront Cafe

Waterfront Cafe
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Licensed cafe right on the waterfront at Russell, Bay of Islands. Sheltered courtyard at rear when the wind is off the water. Great breakfasts and superb Atomic coffee, new exciting lunch options as well. Plenty of gluten free options available. Come and enjoy the view with a cold beer or glass of wine. WiFi available.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mocha in all of New Zealand”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I only had the coffee. The mocha was excellent not to sweet and you can not beat the view. Service was great too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquadementia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    90
    27
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and on the waterfront”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great food and convenient to our motel. We ate here for breakfast and lunch. My husband had the mussel fritters, which were great and I had the seafood chowder and it has excellent, too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best coffee with a view inRussell”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Food was better than average and the best coffee in town is found in this cafe. Cramped seating area the only setback

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolinastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a tasty bite to eat looking across the harbour.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Adored the breakfasts and lunches here- lovely fresh food, great service and super views of the boats in the water.
All requests were met- even those not listed on the menu! We felt incredibly lucky to find this cafe early on in our visit to Russell, so that we could enjoy this quirky gem on several occasions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
324 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere, Good Food, Nice View”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

On our day trip to Russell, we stopped at this cute little restaurant on the wharf. It is a little further down the road so I am sure it gets missed by many people. It it possible to sit outside as well. The food is basic but very tasty. The coffees were excellent. I strongly recommend this little place because I would stop back any time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHWShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Cafe also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Waterfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing