We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore's Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Duke Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
$131
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
$82
$73
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke of Marlborough Hotel(Russell)(Great Value!)
$84
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triton Lodge(Russell)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
67
24
6
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
24
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikes and kayakswater pressure in the showerswimming poolexcellent amenitiesroom rateperfect locationnew zealandhot tubferry terminalroom was spaciousin easy walking distancetwo nightshell holea great stayfull kitchenoverlooking the waterwonderful hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 102 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Russell may once have been the "hell hole of the Pacific" in the days of pirates but is certainly now a piece of heaven. Spent about a week of rest & relaxation at the Commodore's Lodge with my husband and daughter ,who was 9 at the time, in March 2001 following several weeks of frantic touring. It could not have been more perfect and the owners were very helpful and made us feel at home. We had one of the efficency units surrounding the pool.We could sit on our patio & linger over a meal or drink and still watch our daughter while she was in the pool. Our unit was fairly basic but comfortable, however looking on the website it appears all the units have since been tastefully updated and refurbished.

Our daughter got her first taste of freedom in Russell. We felt so safe & secure we allowed her to take her scooter and go down to the bakery alone every morning for the croissant run. To this day 8 years later, our very travelled daughter's favorite place in the world (other than our hometown Vancouver) is Russell NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJRVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Russ and Gill at the Commodores Lodge make your stay as comfortable as possible. Rooms have all the facilities you would expect, and Bicycles, kayaks and a swimming pool are all at your disposal.
I stay there each year, albeit for a short stay, but will continue to do so!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clivegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

During a recent trip to see family in New Zealand we decided to take a few days out in Keri Keri and Russell. After searching on the internet we found Commodores Lodge and thought it looked perfect! Well we weren't wrong! The self contained, poolside one bedroom unit was immaculate and incredibly stylish.

The Lodge was also perfectly located for all kinds of activities that might appeal to any age at any time of the day. We had a young daughter who we put to bed after we 'went out for starters' together and then we enjoyed our delicious take away Thai dinner in our dining room area while she slept in the bedroom.

It really was lovely and we would highly recommend Commodores Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyInNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Commodore in a two bedroom unit with another couple for a friends wedding. The Commodore's location is perfect, right on the beach, walking distance to explore Russell being just 20 metres to the wharf. The unit was very tidy, with modern furniture including kitchenette, flat screen tv and nice bathroom. Facilities include pool, spa, bikes and kayaks. One of the highlights was the owners who were incredibly helpful, giving tips for things to do, directions for a good run and places to kayak.

Great value, will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FordyAuckland_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2008

We love Russel... We've been there twice, in May 2006, and Apr 2007. Both stays were in the Commodore's Lodge which is perfectly tugged away at the water-side.

The motel is clean, has a really nice atmosphere, and is affordable. The setup and the pool is nice as well. Free bicycles and canoe's available as well.

But best of all: "It's in Russel". The best location if you want to be in the Bay of Islands. Especially if you want to sail the islands. And most important, want to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere all together.

Russel itself is really peaceful and not as busy as the other side of the water (Opua and Waitangi). But still near to beatuifull islands, and sceneries.

We're planning to go more time to go to New Zealand, and the Russel/Commodor's will always be one that will always be on the list to do.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch_Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews