We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot for Rest & Relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for Rest & Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

Russell may once have been the "hell hole of the Pacific" in the days of pirates but is certainly now a piece of heaven. Spent about a week of rest & relaxation at the Commodore's Lodge with my husband and daughter ,who was 9 at the time, in March 2001 following several weeks of frantic touring. It could not have been more perfect and the owners were very helpful and made us feel at home. We had one of the efficency units surrounding the pool.We could sit on our patio & linger over a meal or drink and still watch our daughter while she was in the pool. Our unit was fairly basic but comfortable, however looking on the website it appears all the units have since been tastefully updated and refurbished.

Our daughter got her first taste of freedom in Russell. We felt so safe & secure we allowed her to take her scooter and go down to the bakery alone every morning for the croissant run. To this day 8 years later, our very travelled daughter's favorite place in the world (other than our hometown Vancouver) is Russell NZ.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJRVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
33
43
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

Russ and Gill at the Commodores Lodge make your stay as comfortable as possible. Rooms have all the facilities you would expect, and Bicycles, kayaks and a swimming pool are all at your disposal.
I stay there each year, albeit for a short stay, but will continue to do so!

  • Liked — Clean rooms, all facilities, including hair dryer!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clivegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsundays
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

During a recent trip to see family in New Zealand we decided to take a few days out in Keri Keri and Russell. After searching on the internet we found Commodores Lodge and thought it looked perfect! Well we weren't wrong! The self contained, poolside one bedroom unit was immaculate and incredibly stylish.

The Lodge was also perfectly located for all kinds of activities that might appeal to any age at any time of the day. We had a young daughter who we put to bed after we 'went out for starters' together and then we enjoyed our delicious take away Thai dinner in our dining room area while she slept in the bedroom.

It really was lovely and we would highly recommend Commodores Lodge to anyone.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Location
  • Disliked — Noise and closeness to other guests
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyInNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Commodore in a two bedroom unit with another couple for a friends wedding. The Commodore's location is perfect, right on the beach, walking distance to explore Russell being just 20 metres to the wharf. The unit was very tidy, with modern furniture including kitchenette, flat screen tv and nice bathroom. Facilities include pool, spa, bikes and kayaks. One of the highlights was the owners who were incredibly helpful, giving tips for things to do, directions for a good run and places to kayak.

Great value, will be back.

  • Liked — Location, room, owners
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FordyAuckland_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

We love Russel... We've been there twice, in May 2006, and Apr 2007. Both stays were in the Commodore's Lodge which is perfectly tugged away at the water-side.

The motel is clean, has a really nice atmosphere, and is affordable. The setup and the pool is nice as well. Free bicycles and canoe's available as well.

But best of all: "It's in Russel". The best location if you want to be in the Bay of Islands. Especially if you want to sail the islands. And most important, want to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere all together.

Russel itself is really peaceful and not as busy as the other side of the water (Opua and Waitangi). But still near to beatuifull islands, and sceneries.

We're planning to go more time to go to New Zealand, and the Russel/Commodor's will always be one that will always be on the list to do.

  • Liked — The spot and cleaness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2007

Cannot speak too highly of the Commodores Lodge and of our hosts Gill and Russ Cryer. We had booked in to stay 3 nights but our flight from Auckland to Bay of Islands was canceled because of appalling weather,. We took the option of a 5 hour bus journey but that meant we could not get to Russell that night . Phoned Gill at Commodores Lodge who offered to book us into accommodation in Kerikeri to save us being stranded which meant we had a warm welcoming room to get out of the rain into.
We arrived in Russell the following day and Commodores Lodge is in a great location only a few yards from the pier so no trouble pulling our big suitcases there. Our chosen room opened onto a well constructed deck with excellent loungers, table and sun umbrella and the pool. The accommodation is modern with quality finishings - and very comfortable. We really enjoyed staying there as Russell itself is very pretty and has lots of interesting features and of course offers loads to do on the water (the dolphin watching was a real success). Given New Zealand's relatively young modern history it is also a historic place and the little local museum is excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer ( especially as the weather dramatically improved) and we would certainly stay at Commodores Lodge again.

  • Liked — Location ; quality; pool; helpful ,friendly owners
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongbar Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

Have just returned from spending 2 great nights at the Commodores Lodge. This motel accommodation in romantic Russell, had everything you needed. Make sure you ask for a waterfront unit @ $190au per night. Fully self contained including cooking facilities.Unit comprises of kingsize bed (comfortable), cosy linen and contempory decor (recently refurbished). Outside deck with table and comfortable chairs, for kicking back with a wine & a beer watching the sunset. Sky televison and in-house video are also available in rooms. Guests have free use of bikes,kayaks and a dinghy, there is also a very nice pool and bbq area.

There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, all just a few steps away. In saying this there was little or no noise as you might expect being so close to the activities. All in all a lovely two nights and days were had in Russell. The only fault I could find with the Commodores Lodge was the shower floor tiles had been laid in a way that the flow of water did allow for a good runoff, encountered water on the floor after shower could result in an accident if you slipped on the floor as I nearly did.! Execellent value for money.

Helpful?
3 Thank bgvnager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.0 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore's Lodge

Property: Commodore's Lodge
Address: The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Russell
Commodore's Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing