We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sails in the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sails in the sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent position on the Russell Esplanade, with al fresco dining when the sun shines and indoor seating as well. Great selection of cakes and goodies, and a well balanced menu including local oysters to die for. Staff pleasant and on the ball, service time a minimum wait, always a jovial conversation from Graeme (Sally's better half).
Late in the day sit out on the beach front, glass of red or white in hand and watch the sun sinking over Paihia and Waitangi

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RadioZMH310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    221
    63
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Best Seafood Chowder I've ever tasted!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I went on a day trip to Russell, like all reviewers i suppose & again i stumbled on Sallys restaurant, i ate outside the front with a superb view of the harbour..again the staff were all very friendly & ..when the chowder came out to my table it looked so inviting & ghosh it tasted fab, ive eaten a few around the world & this was definitely the best i've tasted, would most certainly recommend Sally's chowder!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Bay of Islands New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious salt and pepper said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

One of my backpacker guests wanted to buy me lunch in appreciation of a great stay and we went to Sally's. Waterfront table, great autumn weather and a really good calamari dish. Warm salt and pepper squid so nicely cooked it melted in the mouth and the lemon dressing to calamari and salad was ' spot on'. Sally's you've done it again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lunch for two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Sally's is the type of place where you can relax, enjoy the view and have something hearty to eat! My husband and I had burgers & fries on a cool day and it was just right! The atmosphere is relaxed, coffee very good and restaurant position fantastic. Thanks Sally & crew!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 556Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellence in the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Our third visit back to Russell, and walking into Sally's makes us feel like we're coming home!!!
Wonderful friendly greetings, and the food is excellent.
This visit we dined at Sally's four times. Breakfast twice, lunch once, and afternoon tea once.
We figure - why stray when you've found the best in the bay!?!

Eggs and bacon to perfection, eggs benedict - heavenly, cakes to die for. All washed down with excellent coffee. Highly recommended to all!
we WILL be back....

Helpful?
Thank WhitbyWimmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing