We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location and superb food!”
Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Co Armagh, NI
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Super location and superb food!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stopped here for lunch one day and the food was lovely, all very home made and excellent quality, great seafront location to stop for an espresso before moving on!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoodWeeFeeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    225
    66
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Views”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were on a day trip to Russell in the Bay of Islands and stumbled across Sally's Restaurant. The lady who greeted us was friendly and helpful as it had just started to sprinkle rain indoor tables were at a premium. She advised us to just order and that she would seat us in a second which she did. The food was delicious - we highly recommend the Seafood Chowder which was delicious. Right on the bay the views are lovely and this made the whole experience very pleasant and memorable. Thoroughly enjoyed it!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lambie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“friendly”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

cake was sooo good we went twice. 2nd time I had veg nachos and they were delicious. I would def recommend if you are looking for a place to relax withour a complicated menu, just old fashioned food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorrainechris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with 5* views”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stopped by Sally's for lunch and found a table outside looking to the harbour. With no menu's we took turns to look at the blackboard menu inside, we had to order there anyway.

We ordered fish and chips - tasty fish but the chips were a bit undercooked, and the calamari with salad - this was way better that I expected, full of flavour and not at all greasy.

Being a holiday weekend, they were pretty busy but the meals came out in lighting speed, even the mix up with table numbers and orders was dealt with quickly and with no fuss or bother, but with the right amount of recovery (it really was no big deal so not too over the top).

My ice chocolate was... okay but nothing remarkable, I'd probably go for something else next time.

We didn't end up sampling the homemade baked goods but boy did they look tempting.

Overall, a very pleasant lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhubarb_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawakawa, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and yummy”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stopped for brunch at Sally's after a walk to Russell. People were very friendly, food and drinkes served quickly and breakfast was delicious. Lovely relaxing place to brunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luca_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing